Rules question: What is a legal shot?

Micha

New member
Hi there folks,

This question is, as you may easily guess, from a newbie of 14.1. The rule point I'm in doubt with (from http://www.bca-pool.com/play/tournaments/rules/rls_141.shtml ) is:

The player remains “on a foul” until the next shot attempt, at which time the foul may be removed by successfully pocketing a called ball, or completing a legal safety.

Should I read here, instead of "by successfully ...", "by doing a legal shot", which I may then understand as "pocketing, safetying or calling but not pocketing whilst not making a foul"?

My question can be rephrased as: Is a shot in which no ball is pocketed automatically referred to as a safety (from the rules point of view, not the handicap equation) ?

Thank you!
 
Hi, yes, so long as the rules of a legal safety were met, they are using those words to include a missed shot. Once the CB contacts an OB, something must hit a rail.
 
Yes, you are reading it correctly.

You are OFF a foul when you make a;

Called shot and miss but successfully complete a 'legal shot'
Called shot and legally make the ball.
Call and execute a legal 'safety'



Hi there folks,

This question is, as you may easily guess, from a newbie of 14.1. The rule point I'm in doubt with (from http://www.bca-pool.com/play/tournaments/rules/rls_141.shtml ) is:



Should I read here, instead of "by successfully ...", "by doing a legal shot", which I may then understand as "pocketing, safetying or calling but not pocketing whilst not making a foul"?

My question can be rephrased as: Is a shot in which no ball is pocketed automatically referred to as a safety (from the rules point of view, not the handicap equation) ?

Thank you!
 
Back
Top