Originally Posted by mel_smOg
in 10 ball call shot:
can you call just a shot, make a ball and leave the opponent with next shot?
I know you can do it in call shaft 8 ball, but unsure about 10 ball
First off, ten ball is a call shot game. No need to qualify it as "call shot" ten ball.
The answer to your question is no you cannot make a ball and leave your opponent with the next shot - unless he chooses to take it and not pass it back.
The applicable rules are 9.6 and 9.7:
The shooter, after the break at anytime may call “safety” which permits him to make contact with the legal object ball without pocketing a ball and end his inning. However, if the shooter pockets the legal object ball the incoming player has the option to play the shot as left, or hand it back to his opponent.
(See 9.7 Wrongfully Pocketed Balls which also applies during a safety.)
9.7 Wrongfully Pocketed Balls
If a player misses his intended ball and pocket, and either makes the nominated ball in the wrong pocket or pockets another ball
, his inning has finished and the incoming player has the option to take the shot as is, or hand it back to his opponent.