8 ball rules situation
Old
  (#1)
brazzman
AzB Bronze Member
brazzman is on a distinguished road
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 9
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Jun 2013
   
8 ball rules situation - 02-03-2017, 09:02 PM

I've pocketed all of my solids and am shooting the 8 ball. Opponents stripe sits in the jaws of corner pocket and the 8 ball sits a couple of inches away. I call the 8 ball in that corner pocket. I hit the 8 ball which hits opponent's stripe ball. The 8 ball follows the stripe into the pocket - which I called. Is it a legal win for me or what? Opponent says not because his stripe was first into the pocket. I disagree because I hit the 8 ball first and it went into the called pocket.
  
Reply With Quote

Old
  (#2)
hang-the-9
AzB Silver Member
hang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond repute
 
hang-the-9's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 8,191
vCash: 1700
iTrader: 8 / 100%
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: MA
   
02-07-2017, 07:00 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by brazzman View Post
I've pocketed all of my solids and am shooting the 8 ball. Opponents stripe sits in the jaws of corner pocket and the 8 ball sits a couple of inches away. I call the 8 ball in that corner pocket. I hit the 8 ball which hits opponent's stripe ball. The 8 ball follows the stripe into the pocket - which I called. Is it a legal win for me or what? Opponent says not because his stripe was first into the pocket. I disagree because I hit the 8 ball first and it went into the called pocket.
In real pool rules, that is a win, if you call your pocket, and make a legal hit on the ball, whatever happens in between does not matter as long as it's legal. So you can't of-course call the ball, hit it and then grab your cue and guide the ball in with your shaft LOL

But you can play your ball off another players ball as long as you hit your ball with the cueball first (legal hit). In fact you can hit every ball on the table and go 3 rails with the object ball, but as long as it goes into the called pocket, it counts as a good shot.

Many people though don't know the real rules and play by "house" or "bar" rules, in those rules you may or may not be able to hit another ball. But since those rules are not official at all and vary from place to place and from player to player, going by the official rules makes things a lot easier. I mean how do you know what the other player thinks will be a legal hit or shot if 10 people think 5 different things about the rules? The official rules are not guesses and are easily available online.

Now if you had a last solid and made the shot but then hit the 8 by accident and that went in, that is a loss even though you made a legal shot on your ball. Early made 8 ball is a loss in every rule set I have seen.


"I'll back you against anyone, as long as you did not know you were playng for money"

Charter member of the D-Bag Club, we stick to the letter of the rules not the spirit, and up yours!

Last edited by hang-the-9; 02-07-2017 at 07:04 PM.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Spikeithard
AzB Bronze Member
Spikeithard is on a distinguished road
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 21
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Dec 2015
   
02-08-2017, 07:31 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by hang-the-9 View Post
In real pool rules, that is a win, if you call your pocket, and make a legal hit on the ball, whatever happens in between does not matter as long as it's legal. So you can't of-course call the ball, hit it and then grab your cue and guide the ball in with your shaft LOL

But you can play your ball off another players ball as long as you hit your ball with the cueball first (legal hit). In fact you can hit every ball on the table and go 3 rails with the object ball, but as long as it goes into the called pocket, it counts as a good shot.

Many people though don't know the real rules and play by "house" or "bar" rules, in those rules you may or may not be able to hit another ball. But since those rules are not official at all and vary from place to place and from player to player, going by the official rules makes things a lot easier. I mean how do you know what the other player thinks will be a legal hit or shot if 10 people think 5 different things about the rules? The official rules are not guesses and are easily available online.

Now if you had a last solid and made the shot but then hit the 8 by accident and that went in, that is a loss even though you made a legal shot on your ball. Early made 8 ball is a loss in every rule set I have seen.
THIS

I have been having a heck of a time with my old school russian neighbor on the rules. He is a old school bar playing guy and it took over a week to get him to come around to real pool rules. He wanted to call every little kiss etc. He still has trouble with the 'must hit a rail AFTER contact' rule and I catch him on it now and then. Its really frustrating though to say the least
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
cuetipper
AzB Bronze Member
cuetipper has a reputation beyond reputecuetipper has a reputation beyond reputecuetipper has a reputation beyond reputecuetipper has a reputation beyond reputecuetipper has a reputation beyond reputecuetipper has a reputation beyond reputecuetipper has a reputation beyond reputecuetipper has a reputation beyond reputecuetipper has a reputation beyond reputecuetipper has a reputation beyond reputecuetipper has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 22
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Jan 2009
   
02-16-2017, 10:59 AM

Its a win. If he disagrees buy a rule book and show him.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
Renegade_56
R56 Custom Cues
Renegade_56 has a reputation beyond reputeRenegade_56 has a reputation beyond reputeRenegade_56 has a reputation beyond reputeRenegade_56 has a reputation beyond reputeRenegade_56 has a reputation beyond reputeRenegade_56 has a reputation beyond reputeRenegade_56 has a reputation beyond reputeRenegade_56 has a reputation beyond reputeRenegade_56 has a reputation beyond reputeRenegade_56 has a reputation beyond reputeRenegade_56 has a reputation beyond repute
 
Renegade_56's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,129
vCash: 500
iTrader: 28 / 100%
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: New Bern, NC
   
02-16-2017, 12:52 PM

congratulations on your win


Renegade_56

If winning is so easy why aren't the losers doing it?

R56 Custom Cues on Facebook
  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.