Go Back   AzBilliards.com > Main Category > 14.1 Pool
Reload this Page rule question (crazy situation)
Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Rate Thread
rule question (crazy situation)
Old
  (#1)
bbb
AzB Gold Member
bbb has a reputation beyond reputebbb has a reputation beyond reputebbb has a reputation beyond reputebbb has a reputation beyond reputebbb has a reputation beyond reputebbb has a reputation beyond reputebbb has a reputation beyond reputebbb has a reputation beyond reputebbb has a reputation beyond reputebbb has a reputation beyond reputebbb has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,188
vCash: 1700
iTrader: 31 / 100%
Blog Entries: 1
Join Date: Mar 2008
   
rule question (crazy situation) - 02-16-2017, 06:11 PM

in another thread in another forum this question came up
your opponent scratched and you have ball in hand in the kitchen (ie behind the head string)
are you allowed to take a foul and shoot the cue ball somewhere whithin the kitchen?? ie never crossing the head string??
  
Reply With Quote

Old
  (#2)
Bob Jewett
Northern California

Bob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 12,620
vCash: 1700
iTrader: 9 / 100%
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
   
02-16-2017, 06:13 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by bbb View Post
in another thread in another forum this question came up
your opponent scratched and you have ball in hand in the kitchen (ie behind the head string)
are you allowed to take a foul and shoot the cue ball somewhere whithin the kitchen?? ie never crossing the head string??
No. This is pretty clear in the WSR.


Bob Jewett
SF Billiard Academy
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
bbb
AzB Gold Member
bbb has a reputation beyond reputebbb has a reputation beyond reputebbb has a reputation beyond reputebbb has a reputation beyond reputebbb has a reputation beyond reputebbb has a reputation beyond reputebbb has a reputation beyond reputebbb has a reputation beyond reputebbb has a reputation beyond reputebbb has a reputation beyond reputebbb has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,188
vCash: 1700
iTrader: 31 / 100%
Blog Entries: 1
Join Date: Mar 2008
   
02-16-2017, 06:30 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Jewett View Post
No. This is pretty clear in the WSR.
thanks bob
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
stevekur1
The "COMMISH"
stevekur1 has a reputation beyond reputestevekur1 has a reputation beyond reputestevekur1 has a reputation beyond reputestevekur1 has a reputation beyond reputestevekur1 has a reputation beyond reputestevekur1 has a reputation beyond reputestevekur1 has a reputation beyond reputestevekur1 has a reputation beyond reputestevekur1 has a reputation beyond reputestevekur1 has a reputation beyond reputestevekur1 has a reputation beyond repute
 
stevekur1's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 5,097
vCash: 4700
iTrader: 32 / 100%
Blog Entries: 1
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
   
02-17-2017, 12:48 PM

You have to break the plane of the headstring.

I've seen some players, shoot accross the table with a masse spin to cross the line and hook back over the line. but have never scene this tactic work succesfully.


PETE TONKIN CUSTOM CUES

Bayshore Billiards 14.1 League ~ Facebook Page ----> https://www.facebook.com/Bayshorebilliardsstraightpool

High Runs:
2009 - In Game - 80
2008 - Practice - 119
2011 - Highest on Video - 50

50 ball evaluation by Blackjack David Sapolis -->https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UiBfKo85z4g
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
acousticsguru
player/instructor
acousticsguru has a reputation beyond reputeacousticsguru has a reputation beyond reputeacousticsguru has a reputation beyond reputeacousticsguru has a reputation beyond reputeacousticsguru has a reputation beyond reputeacousticsguru has a reputation beyond reputeacousticsguru has a reputation beyond reputeacousticsguru has a reputation beyond reputeacousticsguru has a reputation beyond reputeacousticsguru has a reputation beyond reputeacousticsguru has a reputation beyond repute
 
acousticsguru's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,033
vCash: 500
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Join Date: Nov 2010
   
02-17-2017, 02:25 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevekur1 View Post
You have to break the plane of the headstring.

I've seen some players, shoot accross the table with a masse spin to cross the line and hook back over the line. but have never scene this tactic work succesfully.
I wonder why not? It's really a standard type of shot back from the olden days, which I use to two-rail (zig-zag) the cue ball and freeze it "against the Brunswick" as they used to call it, i.e. the centre of the head rail where the name plate is/used to be, which is a sensible strategy when there's a full rack of 15 balls and my opponent is on the first foul (the very least I achieve is that young guns aren't trying to shoot the apex ball into a middle pocket from there).

I sometimes see people two-rail the cue ball the length of the table and back to achieve the same result, but even the pros hardly ever manage to freeze the cue ball to the head rail that way, let alone in the exact center. Can't see how anyone would figure this could be easier to judge - that's about fifteen feet worth of cue ball travel!

Danny Barouty has invented an alternative (if indeed he was the first to come up with the idea), which is to just barely roll the cue ball across the head spot to shorten the two rail angle of the standard reply kick (among other making e.g. Irving Crane's legendary reply kick shot off the stack and back to the head rail riskier), but the disadvantage is that one lets one's opponent see the whole of the cue ball, the reason I like the "antiquated" version above…

Greetings from Switzerland, David.
_________________

„J'ai gâché vingt ans de mes plus belles années au billard. Si c'était à refaire, je recommencerais.“ – Roger Conti

Last edited by acousticsguru; 02-17-2017 at 02:37 PM.
  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.