whats the best book

trinacria

in efren we trust
Silver Member
you've ever read to learn and advance your game?? Drills?? how do you take it to the poolroom without looking like a dweeb??

cajunbarboxplyr

Beatem down wit a Varney
Silver Member
I recommend the 8 Ball Bible if you are wanting to learn some great barbox 8 ball.

99 Critical shots is always a winner!

I don't take any of the books I have to the poolroom.. Cant let anyone there know what I know :p

victorl

Where'd my stroke go?
Silver Member
Mark Wilson's Play Great Pool is the best, hands down. If you are willing to dedicate yourself to it, you can become as good as you want to be.

longhair

Boyd Porter-Reynolds
Silver Member
I got a lot from Mastering Pool by George Fels. Go ahead and look like a dweeb. Nobody cares but you.

Roadking

sweet william
Silver Member
I think the Beards first 2 books are top notch. The only 2 I've kept out of all the ones I've had.
But illustrated principals of pool is pretty good.
I don't have Mark's book yet but planning on getting a copy soon.

3andstop

Focus
Silver Member
IMO as far as learning shots I have to say Robert Byrnes volumes 1 and 2. Same concept as 99 critical shots, but better. Of course most pool junkies end up with all of them anyway. :)

Byrnes comes in DVD as well and better still

Last edited:

victorl

Where'd my stroke go?
Silver Member
http://playgreatpool.com/InstructionBook.aspx

Mark is one of the top pool instructors in the country and this is his life's work put into one book. It's a bit pricey but covers the fundamentals in complete detail and reads like a textbook on pool. I wish I could have had it when I started pool, then I wouldn't have wasted years picking up all those bad habits.

Roadking

sweet william
Silver Member
Is marks book more for the beginner or more for the advanced player?
I looked at the web page & it looks like a lot of nice diagrams, which I like.
Is it mostly about training exercises?
How many pages?

Last edited: