Diamond Tables and the bank shot

Raider510

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Just got back from the BCAPL Championships in Vegas and I have a question for anyone who played on the tables. Is it just me or were the banks coming up short all the time? I talked to a couple other players who are much better than me and they said the exact same thing.

I'm not a pro bank shot artist but I have a reasonable idea of where a bank shot should end up. Time and time again I was off by maybe 5 or 6 inches?

What's the deal?

joelpope

AzB Gold Member
Gold Member
Silver Member
Welcome to the "best" table made

Just different I guess. Not a fan personally.

Actually, all the other tables you have ever played on bank long :)

Goldy

Beating The Internet
Silver Member
Just got back from the BCAPL Championships in Vegas and I have a question for anyone who played on the tables. Is it just me or were the banks coming up short all the time? I talked to a couple other players who are much better than me and they said the exact same thing.

I'm not a pro bank shot artist but I have a reasonable idea of where a bank shot should end up. Time and time again I was off by maybe 5 or 6 inches?

What's the deal?

You have to understand the Diamond Billiard Table was produced by many many great minds.

Banks come up short for several reasons. Speed, Angle, Spin, Cut. I have found when you stroke and cut the ball properly and add just a bit more spin than you need, you end up countering that factor.

If you've grown accustomed to other tables over the years, this is the biggest gripe about the diamond table. But nonetheless, this situation helps you sometimes. :)

Zach.

Raider510

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I love playing on Diamonds, they are so true (and fast as hell lol) but I was kinda put off by the banking difference. I wish we had more in our area to shoot on, I think with enough practice on them I wouldn't gripe so much. Been shooting on 9 foot Olhausens:embarrassed2:

bob c