Review of my new Meucci Power Piston

rkim99

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Anyone who has bothered to read my "Introductions are in Order" post knows that I play a lot of Meuccis and also some of the specifics of my pool background, therefore I'm not going to go into all that here; this is going to be long enough as it is.

I just wanted to post a review of the new cue I've been working out for the last two months. For those of us who cannot yet afford a high-end custom cue, reviews of factory production equipment are more useful, IMHO.

The cue in question is a Meucci Power Piston Demo model (you can see a pic of it @Budgetcues.com. It's the exact same stick except I had my wrap clearcoated) 18.5 oz. with a Blackdot 12.75mm shaft, 15" pro taper, Moori medium tip. If you haven't seen the cue before, it's just a black cue with a black w/white speckle irish linen wrap with Ivorine joint collar and buttcap. Very simple, almost a sneaky pete style. By the way, you can get any color wrap you want.

I felt that my experience with Budgetcues to be a good one. I ordered the cue over the phone through a gentleman named Mark and received the cue in just over two weeks, in exactly the condition requested. I was told that I could have received the cue in less than a week except that I wanted a clearcoated wrap and that they had none in stock at the time so would have to have one built.

I began playing with the cue about two months ago. Note: my previous shooter was an HP-3 @ 19.25 oz. w/ the blackdot shaft also 12.75mm.

Shooting impressions (day 1-day 2): The stick feels like it shoots firmer than the HP-3. There also feels as if there is less vibration (there wasn't much with the HP-3, yet somehow there seems to be less anyway). It also seems to aim differently as I missed many cut shots over 20 degrees. Same with banks and kicks.