What do you do when in a slump?

Shooter1

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I've been playing pool for 45 years, currently a 7 handicap in APA & 8 and 9 ball. Every now and then, you hit a rough stretch where you just ain't feelin' it, but I don't think I've ever been in a stretch like now, (about three weeks). Every time my opponent misses, I'm stuck to the gum, have a 2 rail kick shot, or, if I have a decent shot on my first ball, the rest of the balls are married up and I can't string anything together. And for the most part, my opponents aren't safe-ing me on purpose, it's predominately "the rolls".

When things aren't going my way, I try to tighten my game up some and focus more, make sure my routine is there, practice/re-confirm fundamentals, watch for bad habits creeping in and dig a little deeper. Actually last night I finally rained balls in league 9-ball but I know it was a large part because my break was working and the balls opened up well on virtually all of my breaks. I don't think my shot execution was much better than at any other time in the distant past.

At any rate, this long winded diatribe is my way of asking, what do you guys do when the rolls go against you for what seems like a long period of time?

Thanks

12310bch

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
It's never going to get any better . Kill yourself now. Leave your stick and all your money to me and I
will start the, "Shooter One Slumper Foundation," to help all the other pool shooters out there who whine about ,"The Rolls."

DCS_SF

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I always go back to fundamentals (which sounds like you do too). I start working on stroke and finding that little tiny change that needs improvement. I accept the further slump that usually causes and then start pulling out of it. It usually works. Other times you just some out of it naturally and it was some mental issue.

Also taking a week off can occasionally really help me.

Celophanewrap

Call me Grace
Silver Member