8 ball Break
Old
  (#1)
wabelly
AzB Silver Member
wabelly has a reputation beyond reputewabelly has a reputation beyond reputewabelly has a reputation beyond reputewabelly has a reputation beyond reputewabelly has a reputation beyond reputewabelly has a reputation beyond reputewabelly has a reputation beyond reputewabelly has a reputation beyond reputewabelly has a reputation beyond reputewabelly has a reputation beyond reputewabelly has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 71
vCash: 500
iTrader: 13 / 100%
Join Date: May 2009
Location: upstate SC
   
8 ball Break - 09-21-2017, 12:49 PM

Is it legal to bump cue ball and hit it on a break. Check rules book cannot find any ruling onit
  
Reply With Quote

Old
  (#2)
zencues.com
Love to Win Hate to Lose
zencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond reputezencues.com has a reputation beyond repute
 
zencues.com's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 257
vCash: 500
iTrader: 20 / 100%
Join Date: Nov 2009
   
09-24-2017, 12:25 AM

Do you mean to hit the cue ball twice? If so, then No, it's foul. You can't hit the cue ball twice on any stroke in billiards.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
hang-the-9
AzB Silver Member
hang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond repute
 
hang-the-9's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 9,000
vCash: 1700
iTrader: 8 / 100%
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: MA
   
09-26-2017, 10:58 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by wabelly View Post
Is it legal to bump cue ball and hit it on a break. Check rules book cannot find any ruling onit
Nope, it's a foul, but many people ignore this foul on the break and just let the shooter try again. Missing the stack on the break totally, miscuing, double-hit, many people just ignore those on the break. So yes it's a foul, but it's a foul that a lot of people in friendly tournaments just ignore. If you are in a money match or in some "real" tournament vs a local weekly with players you know, then call the foul and take the break. Technically you would have ball in hand but most again take it as a break shot. I've seen it happen in 9 ball where the guy fouled on the break and they were 3-fouled by playing off the 1 thin and playing safe.


"I'll back you against anyone, as long as you did not know you were playng for money"

Charter member of the D-Bag Club, we stick to the letter of the rules not the spirit, and up yours!
  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.