Joint Pin Sugestions

selkov

Registered
I am still learning the art of cue making. I have made many cues and all have been either 5/16 or Uni-loc. I now want to begin making pin to wood joints. I think i have narrowed down the options to a Modified 3/8x10 from Cue Veneer or the Uni-loc radial.

What pros/cons has anyone had with either?

Any characteristics in play that could help me decide one over the other?

What is your favorite?

Why?

Pancerny

Mike Pancerny
Silver Member
Radial in my opinion is the best. If you ream with a .308 reamer before tapping it will be snug, no need for the undersized tap. Use the good hardware, it's not much more and the customers will know the difference.

Sent from my iPhone using AzBilliards Forums

selkov

Registered
Pancerny,
Thanks for the reamer suggestion. That's is very good to know.
What do you mean by "The Good Hardware"?

qbilder

slower than snails
Silver Member
My pin is a flat thread 3/8-10. I chose 3/8-10 because it's common. I chose the dimensions based on the drill bits I use, so I don't ever need to use a boring bar or reamer. IMO, there's no such thing as "best". So long as the pin pulls the shaft snug and accurate to the butt, it's a fine joint. No pin does that better than another. Whatever you choose, so long as you use it correctly, is the best.

whammo57

Kim Walker
Silver Member
3/8-10 is very good..... easy to install with carbide drill ... easy to tap......... always use a phenolic insert in the shaft............

Kim

selkov

Registered
whammo57,
Can you clarify as to why I would want a phenolic insert in the shaft?
I thought th point was to ge tthe most natural wood feel. Why introduce a third element?

Pancerny

Mike Pancerny
Silver Member