Different Tournaments

F

froznShooter

Hi, I am new to az and a fairly new pool room owner in Winnipeg, Canada I was just wondering if there are any rooms out there running any different types of tournaments. Right now I just run double knock out and round robin 8 ball tournaments on bar boxes and 4X8 brunswick tables. Does anybody have any good tournaments that consistently draw players back?
I should also mention that I do have 41/2 X 9 brunswick's as well.

Just hoping to find new ideas to keep players coming back consistently.

Also does anybody do things like an eight ball break pot?

Thanks in advance for any ideas
Todd Lindsay
Shooter's Billiards
Winnipeg, MB Canada

shag_fu

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I've been kicking around the idea of a blind draw tournament, you dont know which game you are playing until you begin. Throw short rack banks, one pocket, straight pool, 9ball, last pocket or bank 8-ball, or others into a hat. Draw a game out after the brackets are done and everyone is ready to play. Make sure you have rules available for the various games you will be playing as well as some basic strategies. Obviously you could mess with the length of the races depending on time constraints. Dont play the same game more than once month to maximize variety.
Another format I like is the short rack 8ball. Take 4 stripes and 4 solids, 8ball in the middle racked like 9-ball using whatever local 8ball rules you want. Or you could make your players run short-rack 8ball in rotation like 9-ball.