Quote:
Originally Posted by Demondrew
I had to settle this first instance in a match the other day in our league. The rule states:
From the WPA site.
4.10 Breaking Foul
A breaking foul is penalized by the loss of two points as mentioned under 4.3 Opening Break Shot, as well as a possible re-break. If both a standard foul and a breaking foul happen on one shot, it is considered a breaking foul.
So driving two balls and the cue ball to a rail and scratching (or committing some other foul) on the same shot is a breaking foul, not a regular foul. Or am I wrong?
Andy
|
It was a legal break because you drove two balls and the cue ball to a rail, so it's just a regular foul. All you need to execute a legal break is 2 balls and the cue ball to a rail. Once that happens, it's no longer a breaking foul....anything after that is just a regular foul.
If only one ball had hit a rail, and combined with a scratch, the rule says that's a breaking foul because a breaking foul takes precedence over the regular foul (the scratch)... So 2 points off and the incoming player decides to take the table or rerack, but it doesn't count towards the 3 fouls.