Help Me Make My Decision

bdam123

Registered
So I've been reading, looking, and shopping around for a few weeks now.

I've never owned my own cue before so I don't really know anything besides some of the info I can regurgitate from reading for the past few weeks.

I wanted a plain looking cue, preferably black.

I was pretty set on a Mezz EC7-K with a WX900 shaft.

Then I started reading up and checking OB's stuff and I kind like their 123. I haven't decided what shaft but I'm leaning towards the Pro+.

Like I said, I'm really only basing my decision off of things I've read. I have no experience playing any of these cues.

What do you guys think?

thoffen

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
For that price you can get a plain cue or sneaky from a decent custom cuemaker in the secondary market. It will retain a lot of value too.

Mezz is a better production cue maker, but a production cue maker nonetheless. You might get a winner but their selectivity is not going to be the same.

Mostly, though, make sure you play with some cues at your local pool hall and see what suits you. If you are used to bar cues, switching to a low deflection shaft is likely to be a very big adjustment, and low deflection is not objectively better. Personally I don't like the feel of a low deflection shaft, and I make unconscious aiming adjustments for deflection when using english that would make me less accurate with a different type of shaft. Could I eventually get used to a new shaft and become more accurate in some shots? Probably, but if it ain't broke why fix it?

bdam123

Registered
For that price you can get a plain cue or sneaky from a decent custom cuemaker in the secondary market. It will retain a lot of value too.

Mezz is a better production cue maker, but a production cue maker nonetheless. You might get a winner but their selectivity is not going to be the same.