Help deciding between 2 tables

Orcus332

Registered
Hi,
I'm new to the billiards buying arena so I need your help. We are currently in the market to purchase a pool table and have it narrowed down to two 8' tables.

1. 5 year old used Olhausen L-sheraton (original owner) that includes balls, 8-ball rack, 4 cues with plus 1 case, bridge, table brush, chalk, a decent pool table light For $995. The rails (accu-fast) seem to be in good shape.
The cost to disassemble, move, and reassemble is 245, plus the felt would need replaced (200). In total this table would cost us about $1350-$1450 depending on how well I can bargain.

2. Brand new brunswick (Contender) Allenton table. I believe the package included 4 cues, a wall mount, balls, bridge, 8 and 9 ball racks, chalk, brushes, and a clear table cover. This would NOT include a light, so i'll probably mount a fluorescent light above for about $50. The cost of this table with installation and tax would be about $2000.

Anyone have any thoughts on what route we should take here? Any insight as to the durability/longevity of these tables? The guy at the pool table store seemed to be making a big deal about laminate (sheraton) vs veneer (allerton).

Thank you!

Last edited:

NoBull9

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I don't know much about the play quality of the Sheridan,But I have sold and played on a Allenton.My review of the bruswick.Big Pockets shallow shelf,The cushion do have good responce for a entry level table.
But if I was looking to spend 2000.00 plus,I'd look more at the used market with this housing market there's alot out there.

Marop

14.1 - real pool
Silver Member
Just visited the Brunswick website and I don't see a table called "Allerton" on the site.

Orcus332

Registered
Sorry, it's called Allenton, it's listed as a "Contender" pool table, which i assume is a subdivision of brunswick, but still carries the brunswick name plate on the rail.

sun526

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Hi,