PDA

View Full Version : I Finally Won a Tournement and Got Paid Less Than Minimum Wage...

DelaWho???
08-10-2008, 06:55 AM
I have been playing in small local tourneys for about the past 2 yrs, and the best I have been able to do is second. I finally broke through and Won a Tourney!!!! :grin: :grin: I did have a partner, playing a handicapped alternating shot 8 ball tourney. My partner and I had to give up as many as 2 games in a race to 4 because we were maxed in handicap. Everyone around here plays APA so this tourney used players APA handicap with a cap of 10. I'm an sl4, my partner an sl6. It was $10 per person to get in. The bracket was a full 16 teams playing on TWO :eek: valley barboxes.
We were there from 12pm to about 12:30am and we took first place. It was 8hrs to play our first 2 matches. We lost the third match (after sitting a couple hrs waiting to play) ended up in the losers bracket where we made a stand sending everyone we met home. We had 1 break and run all day. We get to the final match and meet the team that put us on the loser side of the bracket (4-1) they were another sl10 team so the final was a race to 4. We beat them 4-2 to win a total of $170. Take out the $20 in entry fees, and we made a cool $75 a piece for 12 1/2 hrs of work. That's good money right there....:rolleyes:

I don't really care about the money, I WON THE WHOLE SHOOTIN MATCH * with partner * Next stop individual tourney win :thumbup:

Thanks for reading, I just had to share. This has been a goal of mine for quite awhile, and I am elated to have acheived it. Obviously I couldn't have done it without a great partner...:thumbup: :thumbup:

:grin-square:

selftaut
08-10-2008, 07:01 AM
Congrats on your 1st taste of victory!! Forget about the money, we all do it for the love of the game.

inside_english
08-10-2008, 07:02 AM