View Full Version : World 14.1 Champions

08-12-2008, 06:40 PM
Does anybody know where I can locate a list of the World 14.1 Champions since (including) 1959? I have a couple of old books, like "Willie Mosconi on Pocket Billiards" that list up to 1957-58 but some contradict each other. According to Willie's book he was champ from 1950 thru '58 however another book I have lists Irving Crane as the 1955 Champ. Was there more than one sanctioning body/tournament. Also, does anybody know when Willie actually retired? I understand that he suffered a stroke at some point.
Any/all help would be greatly appreciated.

Scott Lee
08-12-2008, 07:12 PM
The Official BCA Rule Book lists all the 14.1 champions, and the years they won. For info on Mosconi, read Robert Dyer's "The Hustler & The Champ". Unbiased and accurate information on the lives of both Mosconi and Wanderone.

Scott Lee

Cameron Smith
08-12-2008, 07:59 PM
According to the WPA there have only been two:rolleyes: :confused:

the BCA rule book (as stated by Scott Lee) has a full list going back to Cyrille Dion in 1877. I think the first 14.1 champion was Alfredo De Oro in 1911 or 1912. Don't quote me on that one though:embarrassed2: .