PDA

View Full Version : What happened to tv coverage of the Canadian Championships?

Cameron Smith
01-15-2009, 03:51 PM
What happened? I remember watching some Canadian Tournaments on tsn back in 2004-2005, ie. Molson Cup and Border Battle.

Everyone who is 25 and older can remember watching Canadian Snooker on television as well.

DaveK
01-15-2009, 04:03 PM
What happened? I remember watching some Canadian Tournaments on tsn back in 2004-2005, ie. Molson Cup and Border Battle.

Everyone who is 25 and older can remember watching Canadian Snooker on television as well.

Good question. I recall watching the Canadian 9 Ball championships years back, my friend Quinten Doell was on :eek: .

Dave

Chest Rockwell
01-15-2009, 04:12 PM
I also remember watching lots of tournaments on TSN years before i started playing pool....my understanding on televised events is this......feel free to correct me if i'm wrong.....

Years ago alot of the televised canadian tournaments were sponsored by some of the big tobacco companies.....since tobacco advertising and sponsorship has been outlawed.......the money has dried up.....therefore no more televised tournys.

I'm pretty sure that the Border battle is owned by TSN.......and for some reason, in the last few years......they've decided to put that event on the shelf and have not decided to bring it back.

It's too bad......I always enjoyed watching canadian tournys......maybe TSN will decide to bring back the Border Battle one of these days.

D_Lewis
01-15-2009, 05:49 PM
I also remember watching lots of tournaments on TSN years before i started playing pool....my understanding on televised events is this......feel free to correct me if i'm wrong.....

Years ago alot of the televised canadian tournaments were sponsored by some of the big tobacco companies.....since tobacco advertising and sponsorship has been outlawed.......the money has dried up.....therefore no more televised tournys.