PDA

View Full Version : Couple basic questions for you

JDP12
05-08-2009, 03:12 PM
hey all- just thought I would say hello, first post and all.

I just started playing pool seriously about a month ago, and play as much as time allows with school. I've been playing with a cue that came with our pool table, a Brunswick.

I'm nowhere near good enough to be needing a dedicated cue, but I just thought I would pose this question because my birthday is coming up in a few months...

When would you consider oneself good enough to need to buy a cue?
Is a break/jump cue really needed in the beginning? I'm guessing not...but was just wondering.

So just wanted to pose those two, I consider the first more important of a question than the latter.

Thanks,

JDP

dajeff71
05-08-2009, 03:17 PM
JDP - I say that regardless of your skill level it can help to have a quality cue. The important thing is that you feel like you are good enough. The consistency of having the same cue every time that you play can increase your game in itself. That benefit is worth getting a cue at any point in your development as a player. I say go for it. I suggest first getting a playing cue that you like and can get used to, which may take a little while. Later think about getting a break/jump cue but in the meantime don't use your playing cue to break with because it can damage the tip and the shaft. The playing cue is much more important because you use it the majority of the time. Hope this helps!

SupaFoo
05-08-2009, 03:26 PM
Welcome JDP!

In a few months, if you feel like you've gotten realky into the game, the I would suggest buying your own playing cue to get used to. It's a bigtime buyer's market right now so it's as good a time as any to buy. I'd say go for a used custom sneaky pete right off the bat - it'll hold it's resale value a lot better than a production cue and you'll be getting a fine piece of craftsman ship for a decent price.