PDA

View Full Version : Sinking the 8 on the break, twice in one day.. in a row..


paksat
05-19-2009, 02:58 PM
What's the chances if you had to guess ( 8 ball )? Bout 1 in a thousand? More?

It just happened. 8 in the left corner, then in the opposite corner consecutively.

mikeyfrost
05-19-2009, 03:02 PM
Thats always fun when it happens, the question is, did they count as wins? Depending on the rules it might have screwed you haha.

paksat
05-19-2009, 03:05 PM
All I know is I don't expect to have any good luck for the next 5 years at least lol.

And yeh, they won both games ( wasn't league or tourney )

Pushout
05-19-2009, 03:10 PM
Improbable, I seem to remember doing it once, back when I played it all the time and before I got serious about the game in the '70s. It was a long time ago, and I may be mistaken. I've heard stories for years about multiple 8s on the break, in a row, never verified, however.

Tom In Cincy
05-19-2009, 03:21 PM
Always nice if it counts as a Win.

But other than that and the smile it usually brings, IMO, it is just another wasted lottery moment.

tucson9ball
05-19-2009, 03:30 PM
I actually sank the 8 on the snap 2 games in a row. It was back in the late 80's in a local bar. We had a regular challenge table where games went from $2 to $5 a game with occasional ring games. Bar table 8 ball was the big game and it was a built in rule : if you make the 8 on the break, the opponent can play again right away. There was always at least 6 sets of quarters waiting to play on the rail.
Anyways, this poor guy was waiting about an hour to play, he racks em good and I break the 2nd ball down cause in those days if you made the 8, you win. The 8 just flew in the side pocket and the guy fumbles around for another set of quarters. After a couple minutes he gets the balls tight again. I break and the 8 flies in the side again, I never felt so bad for anybody. He just looked at the table and threw his hands up. It was .50 cents for another game but he was done. If I remember right, we were'nt even playing for anything. He was short on money and just wanted to play for fun.
That was the first and last time I made the 8 twice in a row.:sorry:

MO RIVER POOL
05-19-2009, 03:35 PM
we have a guy in our league that has 9 8b already this year and hes done it 2x in 2 matches ea. he had 13 8b last session. he is a 7 and has been for years though.

paksat
05-19-2009, 03:38 PM
I actually sank the 8 on the snap 2 games in a row. It was back in the late 80's in a local bar. We had a regular challenge table where games went from $2 to $5 a game with occasional ring games. Bar table 8 ball was the big game and it was a built in rule : if you make the 8 on the break, the opponent can play again right away. There was always at least 6 sets of quarters waiting to play on the rail.
Anyways, this poor guy was waiting about an hour to play, he racks em good and I break the 2nd ball down cause in those days if you made the 8, you win. The 8 just flew in the side pocket and the guy fumbles around for another set of quarters. After a couple minutes he gets the balls tight again. I break and the 8 flies in the side again, I never felt so bad for anybody. He just looked at the table and threw his hands up. It was .50 cents for another game but he was done. If I remember right, we were'nt even playing for anything. He was short on money and just wanted to play for fun.
That was the first and last time I made the 8 twice in a row.:sorry:


Mine went in the corner pockets. One near, the other far side.

CreeDo
05-19-2009, 03:42 PM
There's a specific break that helps send it towards the side. I think I heard that using that break might make it as often as 1 in 30. I think it was ShootingArts who played someone who called it and made it 3 times in a row. Some rack-reading trick?

Towards the corner is pretty rare. I wouldn't guess 1 in 1000 tho. Depends a lot on the quality of the table and the rack and stuff. There's probably a certain gap in the rack that makes it more likely to move towards the corner.

Maniac
05-19-2009, 04:10 PM
What's the chances if you had to guess ( 8 ball )? Bout 1 in a thousand? More?

I won't hazard a guess on the odds, but a guy did this to my best friend in our eight-ball league about six or seven weeks ago. Back-to-back 8's on the break. It's an APA league, so they were wins :(.

Maniac

conetip
05-19-2009, 04:48 PM
What's the chances if you had to guess ( 8 ball )? Bout 1 in a thousand? More?

It just happened. 8 in the left corner, then in the opposite corner consecutively.

On sunday, At the playoffs for vegas, a #3 won the lag,then twice put the 8ball in the right side pocket.
Quickest set played all day. Our team got 2nd.
Neil

TX Poolnut
05-19-2009, 04:55 PM
On a barbox, I have personally sank the 8-on-the-break 3 times in a row, using the 2nd ball break. Two times, it went into the lower side pocket. The last time, it went into the lower corner pocket on the head side of the table.

<iframe src="http://CueTable.com/P/Player/?@4AALW4BCpA3CCYA4DCpe4EFbe3FChe4GBjO4HAMA4IAEe3JF Se4KEMO3LBKO3MDvO4NBal3OBJl1PXFV1kXFV4kDFW1uClA@" noresize="noresize" marginheight="0" marginwidth="0" frameborder="no" width="600" height="400" ></iframe>

SloRoller
05-19-2009, 06:01 PM
On a barbox, I have personally sank the 8-on-the-break 3 times in a row, using the 2nd ball break. Two times, it went into the lower side pocket. The last time, it went into the lower corner pocket on the head side of the table.

<iframe src="http://CueTable.com/P/Player/?@4AALW4BCpA3CCYA4DCpe4EFbe3FChe4GBjO4HAMA4IAEe3JF Se4KEMO3LBKO3MDvO4NBal3OBJl1PXFV1kXFV4kDFW1uClA@" noresize="noresize" marginheight="0" marginwidth="0" frameborder="no" width="600" height="400" ></iframe>

Yep, with this exact break I made the 8 on the break 4 times in one day last week in Vegas.

Once during a match.(not a win by BCA rules)

IMO chances are higher with a fast cloth. I dont use the 2nd ball break in most bars due to large clusters as the balls dont spread out much.

Still very slim chances there.

Break pot anyone?

SR

paksat
05-19-2009, 06:18 PM
Well it was done on a 8 footer with worn out cloth with a walmart sportcraft stick.


pretty cool stuff.

poolpro
05-19-2009, 06:36 PM
I have done it once about 12 -13 years ago.

It was an APA match. I was a 4 at the time and I was playing a 3. It was on a 9 footer ( we played in an in house non traveling league at a pool room). I won the lag, I break the 1st game and make the 8. He racks again, I make the 8 on the snap again. Then, he racks them, I break and ran out. Score 3-0. As he is racking for the 4th game a guy says " I'll give you $20 if you snap the 8 again!". I break the 8 ball sits in the pocket, but I make another ball. I run down where I have the 8 ball and 2 solids, one in each corner. I try to make my ball in the pocket past the 8 and I make the 8 out of turn and lose. The score is now 3-1 and the guy has not shot once! He breaks the next game makes a couple, I play him a tight safe, get ball in hand and win on the next turn.

I remember it very well. It was my lowest inning match ever ( only 2 innings for the whole match!). Also the last time I was ever a SL4. I remember wishing badly I was still a 3 at the time, because then it would have been a zero inning match. I never heard of anyone doing that!

I am now a 7, and am lucky to make the 8 ball on the break once in a match. Weird, huh? Well, now it is mostly on slow bar tables.

Jw

rackem
05-19-2009, 07:21 PM
Jason, I was thinking it must have been quite a while ago if you were a SL4:D;) How you been buddy. I havn't seen you posting much.:confused:

I have done back to back 8 ball breaks a couple of times.
Last time the bartender was in the middle of pouring my free drink.
All of a sudden the freebie became a double.:grin:
I have also done back to back 15s playing chicago.

poolpro
05-19-2009, 07:34 PM
Jason, I was thinking it must have been quite a while ago if you were a SL4:D;) How you been buddy. I havn't seen you posting much.:confused:

I have done back to back 8 ball breaks a couple of times.
Last time the bartender was in the middle of pouring my free drink.
All of a sudden the freebie became a double.:grin:
I have also done back to back 15s playing chicago.


Hey, how is it going! Yeah, I got busy with a lot of things and was off of here for awhile. Taking a break is good once in a while. You get down here to FL lately? Let me know, we'll play some!:thumbup:


That reminds me, I have done 9 ball breaks 3 times in a row. I was playing a friend of mine a race to 5. Three 9 balls on the break, 1 break and run, and 1 game where I gave him 2 shots. The best part was we were playing for a drink ( and I think it was a soda because we were in a non alcholic pool room) and he had prob never run 4 balls in his life! What a waste! Can't seem to do it when I need to, but give me a guy who can't play, and I'll play lights out!. These were prob 2 of my best matches and they netted me a combined total of $2.25. Can you say high roller?:D

My other big accomplishment was I broke and ran out a game of one pocket. I am NOT a good ( or even average) one pocket player! It was such a fluke it is crazy! I learned how to get a ball in on the break and I just got real lucky, made a couple of good shots and just got some real good rolls. This was at Chris' Billiards in Chicago. I was not a real regular there, but I would stop in from time to time. The funny thing is I was looking for a little action ( and I mean little). After that the only people who wanted to play me were people I knew I shouldn't play for a nicklel. I fooled some of these guys into thinking I could really play! I hustled myself right out of any action I could win.

Maniac
05-19-2009, 07:56 PM
I have done it once about 12 -13 years ago.

It was an APA match. I was a 4 at the time and I was playing a 3. It was on a 9 footer ( we played in an in house non traveling league at a pool room). I won the lag, I break the 1st game and make the 8. He racks again, I make the 8 on the snap again. Then, he racks them, I break and ran out. Score 3-0. As he is racking for the 4th game

I remember it very well. It was my lowest inning match ever ( only 2 innings for the whole match!). Also the last time I was ever a SL4.

Jw

I'm not doubting your story, I am just wondering if the number of games needed to win a match has changed since you were a SL4. In the APA (at least in my area), a SL4 needs only to win three games to a SL3's two. I am assuming that the format has probably changed over the years to allow the nights matches to end earlier in the night. I have never liked the fact that any player, man or woman, can win a match by winning only two games. I DO however understand the need to shorten the total time length of all five matches. Many times it is after midnight, on a Monday no less, before we are through.

Maniac

poolpro
05-19-2009, 08:10 PM
I'm not doubting your story, I am just wondering if the number of games needed to win a match has changed since you were a SL4. In the APA (at least in my area), a SL4 needs only to win three games to a SL3's two. I am assuming that the format has probably changed over the years to allow the nights matches to end earlier in the night. I have never liked the fact that any player, man or woman, can win a match by winning only two games. I DO however understand the need to shorten the total time length of all five matches. Many times it is after midnight, on a Monday no less, before we are through.

Maniac

You are correct. I currently play on an APA team and we do the shortened format. I would actually prefer not to shorten any races, but I understand it.

This was in an in house league in a pool room where we all plyed at the same location every week. Nobody travelled. It was a small non alchoholic pool room we were all to young to play in the bars then.

I do not know for sure if the APA used the shortened race back then ( I think they did), but we did not. We played on Sun afternoon and did not see the point in shortening the sets. It was kind of a "house rules" thing.

Jason

mikeyfrost
05-19-2009, 08:27 PM
I've got a few pretty sick streaks. On a diamond bar box ive done it 3x in a row in different pockets. I break the old fashioned smash it hard and hit the first ball kind of way. I attributed them to bad racks as quick as the 8 ball got to flying around.

CreeDo
05-19-2009, 08:30 PM
Shortening hurts if they decide to stick a 7 against a 3, and the 3 is really a 4. They only have to win 2 games vs. your 5 and you know that with "you take what you make" rules, often you can start out utterly screwed for a particular rack of 8 ball.

Between that and a scratch on the 8, it's very possible for a 7 to get taken out against a much worse player. I don't mind a handicapping system now but at the time it really chafed my nuts.

trustyrusty
05-19-2009, 08:47 PM
When I played in the APA (06-07), we went to Vegas for APA Team Nationals. A 4 on my team had one of the weirdest matches I've ever seen....

Opponent wins the coin flip, and breaks, makes the 8ball, but scratches. 1-0. Teammate breaks, hangs the eight, but makes a solid. He made 2 more solids and played safe. When his opponent kicked he made the 8 ball outta turn. 2-0. Teammate breaks and makes the 8ball. 3-0 in one inning. He wasn't a 4 after that match. We asked about the 3-0 in 1 inning, and were told it was seen as just that, regardless of how it happened! :confused: Total of 6 balls made in 3 wins IN 8BALL!!! Ooops, 7 made if you include the cueball on the first break. :eek: lol :thumbup:

trob
05-20-2009, 04:10 AM
At a league match some years ago I was on a pretty high powered team. It was the last week of the season and we were in first place with a bullet so it really didn't matter what we did. We started talking about the 8 on the break hitting 2nd ball in. The last set was our break so everyone of us did it. 6 eights on the break in a row!! Not kidding. The other team was to amazed to be mad about it lol That was the earliest I ever saw a league match completed. :)

Also a few weeks ago when my 8 ball break was really suffering for what ever reason I was messing with hitting the 3rd ball in on the break. I did drop two in a row but around here it would do me no good. The 8 gets spotted at just about every league and tournament in this area

maxeypad2007
05-20-2009, 04:49 AM
I've seen this happen a lot in "rack your own" :)