PDA

View Full Version : learn 1 pocket

JE54
06-24-2009, 04:53 AM
For you 1 hole players.
What suggestions do you have for learning the game?
I primarilly play 8 ball. I've been working on straight pool for a couple years now. I'm thinking that 1 hole would probabley help with straight.
I looked at 1 pocket .org.
I'd like some thoughts on strategies, practice etc., any thoughts would be appreciated.

3andstop
06-24-2009, 05:22 AM
There has to be a a zillion things to suggest to help learning 1pkt, two things that come to mind for me are... purchase a ton of 1pkt matches from Accu-stats that Bill Incardona is hosting. ( I personally enjoy him along with Danny D and Grady) and listen and watch closely.

Secondly, learn to condition your mind that its not about going in on making a shot you feel you can make as much as it is about long term game position. Many are the times when making an easy shot is the worst option. Allow yourself to think more about the overall table position than pocketing.

Curt Bergeest
06-24-2009, 05:38 AM
Be creative, practice putting balls by your hole without losing the cue ball. Watching videos are a good way of learning new shots. Practice ball speed and banks with speed (fast or slow) most of all you must have the patience of a dead man or you will sell out and lose. Play better players with weight and watch what they do. If the shot does not feel right when you look at the first time it will not be the right shot when you look at it the second, so don't take it. Practice playing safe, and do not be afraid of taking a foul and losing a ball.

Greatblzofire
06-24-2009, 05:57 AM
Here is the best advice I can give you about strategy in one pocket.

1)Whitey is the most important ball on the table. Never sell out whitey, and it will be hard for your opponent to gain any momentum and win.