PDA

View Full Version : Very Belated Introduction

Kickin' Chicken
03-14-2010, 09:05 AM
Hello azb'ers;

I see that another azb'er had recently introduced himself and thought it might be appropriate for me to do the same. I have been a member on azb, lurking since March 2007, however, I only began posting during the last month or so. I was mostly looking at cues for sale here previously.

My name is Brian Carroll and I live in Connecticut. My love for pool began way back when I was a high school freshman in the early 70's. I was maybe 13 or 14 years old. My buddy and I would skip school and invariably find ourselves at our local Sam's Pool Hall. Sam must have been close to 80years old then and for reasons I'm not sure of, he allowed us to come in and hang out there. I think we amused him. This wasn't a kid-friendly environment. It was a dank, smokey place with real characters always coming and going. Mike and I were intrigued with the whole vibe, and most especially, with the better players whose sets typically ended with money changing hands. That was it for us, we were hooked.

We started playing regularly and for teenagers, I have to say, we became pretty good - to the point where we eventually were going up against some of those better players and holding our own.

I joined the Army in '75 and whenever possible, at whatever base I was stationed, I spent a lot of time in the day room (rec room) working on my game. I competed in a large Army tournament and was real happy to win the Brigade 8-ball championship for the 4th Infantry Division at Wiesbaden Air Base, Germany.

But that was then and this is now! How does that country song go?... "I'm not as good as I once was; but once I was as good as I ever was..." LOL

So, for an old man of 53 I still have some game but not a whole bunch anymore. Yes, I would appreciate the 7 and out.