PDA

View Full Version : Do you tip the Tournament Director after winning the cash?

JustinHayes
06-18-2010, 08:34 AM
We have a small $5 entry tournament around here (ranges from 16-32 entrys) every Thrusday at a local bar. (The bar provides the TD with free drinks)

I used to play in this about 6-months ago and my buddy (who was a weak A-player) was the TD. He also played in it and he won it about 25% of the time... I had a lot of fun and when I won, I just took the cash and was out.

.... since I quit the APA league, I started playing this tourny again and my buddy has since moved away. The new TD is a lady who is about a D-player but does a good job running it and she also plays in it (basicly she donates).

So, last night was the second week back at this tourny and I won again (actually the first week Cody003 and I split the pot - so I guess I tied last week)..... and my son got 3rd. .... So, we're collecting our winnings and the TD has this sad look on her face as she hands over the cash. ...

... and I briefly think .. "Should I tip her?"

(I didn't, we just left and went home).... but during the NFL season, there's an office pool and it's customary (for that one) that the winner tips the guy that runs the pool.

Has anyone ever tipped the TD in a cash pool tourny? Since she's getting free drinks should I not feel bad that she donated her $5 to me?

Black-Balled
06-18-2010, 09:01 AM
...I know from experience that being a TD is 90% thankless. I've never expected a tip and wouldn't take one if offered.
That's why they get the big bucks!

Roger Long
06-18-2010, 09:14 AM
It's common practice in my part of the country to tip the TD. Most TD's make very little, and have to do a lot. If good TD's aren't helped out by the players, they usually won't be around very long. :(

Roger

Bigtruck
06-18-2010, 09:20 AM
We have a small $5 entry tournament around here (ranges from 16-32 entrys) every Thrusday at a local bar. (The bar provides the TD with free drinks)