PDA

View Full Version : Random break question for Matchroom events


Anecdote
05-27-2011, 09:33 AM
I had this totally random question pop up about the break in Matchroom tournaments. Events like the Mosconi Cup, the World Pool Masters and the World Cup of Pool enforce a special break rule.

The player breaking has to drive three balls past the head string and every ball made, counts as a ball past the headstring. If he fails to do so, the break is deemed 'illegal' and control passes to the opponent.

But what if you make the money ball off the break, in these events the 9-ball, but fail to get another two balls past the head string? I don't recall it ever happening, but what would the call be?

Does the breaker win the rack or does the 9-ball get respotted with the opponent coming in?