PDA

View Full Version : a striking similiarity

justnum
02-06-2006, 02:14 PM
Your personality seems much brighter than the nicknames you have just curious as to how you feel about when strange pool players ask you for autographs or to take pictures with you. Because I am new to the sport and I see certain players on tv and its like I want to ask them stuff about their techinques and back story. But at the same time I dont want to seem like a star chaser. How would you handle someone asking to play a friendly game or practice together? And fill that time with some lite conversation.

Melissa Herndon
02-07-2006, 10:05 AM
Your personality seems much brighter than the nicknames you have just curious as to how you feel about when strange pool players ask you for autographs or to take pictures with you. Because I am new to the sport and I see certain players on tv and its like I want to ask them stuff about their techinques and back story. But at the same time I dont want to seem like a star chaser. How would you handle someone asking to play a friendly game or practice together? And fill that time with some lite conversation.

To be honest, all the professional players that I know are happy to chat with other players, fans, etc. They are also very gracious about taking pictures and signing autographs. The only thing that spectators/fans should remember and be considerate about is the timing. If a pro player is walking into the arena to play a match, or if they are inside the arena warming up, or even if they just lost a match...those are not the ideal times to stop a player for an autograph or a chat. But, if you see them walking the hall, or sitting in the audience, or having a drink at the bar...you should feel completely comfortable approaching them.