PDA

View Full Version : Introduction book for beginner ! Need help...

chuchu1604
05-10-2006, 03:16 PM
Hello all
Well... I'm not really a beginner :D but I'm pretty serious to improve my game so I want to find out a book which include all informations general of playing billiards : basic system of banking, aiming , strategy...... It's likely a book "must have" of a beginner.
Please tell me if you know a book like this.
Thanks so much!

jhendri2
05-10-2006, 03:44 PM
I think there are three books every palyer must have, Standard Book of Pool and Billiards (Robert Byrnes), Advanced Techiques for Pool And Billiards (Robert Byrnes), and 99 Critical Shots in Pool (Ray Martin).

Hope this helps!

Jim

NineBallNut
05-10-2006, 03:49 PM
The above three are good books, I have them all. Another couple I find usefull are "play you best pool" by Phil Capelle, and Precision Pool by Gerry Kanov and Share Stauch.

Cameron Smith
05-10-2006, 05:50 PM
I haven't seen to many good beginner books. Of course there are tons of books that cover your basic positional shots as well as advanced ones. But the problem is that I have seen only a couple of books that actually take an in depth look at the fundamentals.

That being said I haven't seen all the books, but I do know that Robert Byrnes just skims over the fundamentals, I don't know where Phil Capelle does though.

I find this very frusterating because when I was just learning 90% of my fundamentals were learned by watching pool on television and trial and error. It would be great of the "... For Dummies" franchise were to publish a pool book. I personally thought that Gary Mccords Golf For Dummies was a phenomenal beginners book, He spends most of the book looking at fundamentals which is what you need when starting out.