PDA

View Full Version : What is your goal when you push out?

poolplaya1
11-03-2015, 02:40 AM
Is it just to leave yourself the easiest shot that your opponent will pass back?

Or is it to leave your opponent the hardest shot that he will take on?

Are those basically the same thing?

What other factors do you take into account? Leave yourself shots that you are better at than the average player, so he passes back? Leave shots that seem easier than they are so he takes it on?

I am new to 9 ball and I want to think more deeply about the goals of a push out, and the philosophy involved therein.

Thanks for the info

Colin Colenso
11-03-2015, 04:23 AM
I would think it's finding a push out position where you consider yourself about a 60% chance and your opponent less so, of making a shot which improves one's position in the game.

If you can't find a shot where you think you have some expertise above your opponent, then you're in trouble.

Colin

philly
11-03-2015, 05:55 AM
Obviously it depends on who I'm playing. If I am playing a very good player and I have sight but no shot I play a safe rather than push because I know the better player will safe me and put me in jail. If I have no sight I push to where a safe can be played and hope my opponent does not execute or if he passes the shot back to me I can safe him.
If I am playing someone that does not see the table that well I will usually leave a tough shot and hope he passes back to me so I can either pocket the ball or leave him blocked by playing safe.

Black-Balled
11-03-2015, 06:06 AM
Confuson...

7forlife
11-03-2015, 06:07 AM
Know your opponent and know your ability.
Don't get caught in the illusion that you have to play a lock up safe every time.
(a) One only needs to not leave a shot
(b) Don't leave a shot where a skilled player can lock you up
(c) Don't leave a shot where a return safe is beyond you ability to hit