PDA

View Full Version : Joint pin issue?

troyjk1
11-03-2015, 11:14 AM
Hey all, this is my first time posting on this site, and overall, this forum has been very useful.
So here's my issue. I bought a Players HXT-e20 cue some while back. It has a 5/16x18 piloted black collar joint. The female end joint is wood. Just recently I bought a predator 314-2 shaft, 5/16x18 joint pin. However, I didn't realize that it was a flat face black collar, not piloted. As a result, when I screw in the predator shaft onto my players butt, there's a space where the pilot should be. I also noticed that the shaft's joint circumference is a hairline smaller than the circumference of the butt's female joint, so you can feel it when you run your hands over that area.
I'm wondering if any of this is a problem, in terms of performance or feel. I've played with it and it seems to play great, but I don't have anything to really compare it to.
Thanks for all your help.

ElCorazonFrio
11-03-2015, 11:22 AM
Hey all, this is my first time posting on this site, and overall, this forum has been very useful.
So here's my issue. I bought a Players HXT-e20 cue some while back. It has a 5/16x18 piloted black collar joint. The female end joint is wood. Just recently I bought a predator 314-2 shaft, 5/16x18 joint pin. However, I didn't realize that it was a flat face black collar, not piloted. As a result, when I screw in the predator shaft onto my players butt, there's a space where the pilot should be. I also noticed that the shaft's joint circumference is a hairline smaller than the circumference of the butt's female joint, so you can feel it when you run your hands over that area.
I'm wondering if any of this is a problem, in terms of performance or feel. I've played with it and it seems to play great, but I don't have anything to really compare it to.
Thanks for all your help.

Won't cause damage and you probably wouldn't ever be able to tell the difference by feel.

Pilots rarely do much for hit.