PDA

View Full Version : 10 ball - what happened here?


dyenom
07-20-2016, 06:47 PM
What happened at 47:20 in this video? Dechaine shoots the 8 ball, Sigel comes out, looks at the shot, and passes it back to him.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EBZ1sYM2psA

PoolBum
07-20-2016, 07:00 PM
I assume they're playing call-shot where if you call a ball and miss the other person has the option of making you shoot again. This avoids the possibility of someone calling a ball but then intentionally playing safe.

dyenom
07-20-2016, 07:02 PM
Makes sense. I just saw it happen again. He shot a 2-10 combo and missed and he passed the shot back. I've watched a lot of 10-ball and never seen that before. Good to know.

Thanks for the response.

sixpack
07-20-2016, 07:55 PM
If you make a ball you didn't call in 10-ball it's your opponent's choice to shoot it or make you shoot from there.

dyenom
07-20-2016, 08:07 PM
If you make a ball you didn't call in 10-ball it's your opponent's choice to shoot it or make you shoot from there.

What threw me off is that Dechaine didn't make the ball. He shot the 8 like he was trying to cut it in and missed. The following shot was wide open - just a long rail bank.

I noticed a while later they were calling safeties I just didn't notice it until a while after I had submitted the post.

9andout
07-21-2016, 10:44 AM
It would have to be call shot and call safe.
I've watched some tournaments where they just at call shot.
So the 2 way shot is still a factor.

lakeman77
07-21-2016, 11:59 AM
so if you call a pocket and miss the opponent can give it back to you?

alstl
07-21-2016, 12:05 PM
I don't like the rule. The 2 way shot is a staple of a lot of high level players.

GideonF
07-21-2016, 01:53 PM
so if you call a pocket and miss the opponent can give it back to you?

Yes - in the call shot/call safe version. This is a rule in place in some tournaments, but is obviously not the standard WPA world 10b rules.

Jeff Rosen
07-21-2016, 04:12 PM
When I was in the Mega Bucks League we played 8, 9, & 10 Ball in alternate weeks. When we played 10 ball we played call shot, call safety. I understand this is the basic format for pro 10 ball. You just don't see it happen so much because pro's have very few unforced errors. If they call a shot they almost always make it. If they feel there's a chance they can miss they won't take the chance and call safety.

9andout
07-21-2016, 06:12 PM
so if you call a pocket and miss the opponent can give it back to you?
Yes because you didn't call safe.
If you call safe you can't shoot again. Your opponent has to shoot. (Can't pass it back)