PDA

View Full Version : "You Know You've Been Playing Pool For A Really Long Time When..."

DJSTEVEZ
08-05-2017, 05:25 PM
Please contribute by adding your observation / experience / whit / etc.

I'll start...

...you remember when there was only 6 different brands of Cue Tips:

Royal Oak
Elk Master
Le' Pro
Triangle
Triumph
Chendavert Champion (those were those fancy French tips with the backing).

GoldCrown
08-05-2017, 05:27 PM
You Know You've Been Playing Pool For A Really Long Time When..............when you repeat over and over..."I should have stayed in school"

strmanglr scott
08-05-2017, 05:35 PM
Ppl get bent when you call cloth, felt.

Known ppl who have been re-felting tables for over 30 years, they still call it felt.

chefjeff
08-05-2017, 06:23 PM
...when you're on only your second game of one-pocket.

Jeff, sorry, couldn't resist, Livingston

one stroke
08-05-2017, 06:43 PM
When you remember Colored Aluminum pool cues

Robert58
08-05-2017, 06:45 PM
When I started playing pool it was against the law to play 9 ball in a pool hall, in Texas. 1959.

I played snooker at the Pasadena (Texas) Recreation Hall. They had 5 snooker tables in good condition and 4 8' pool tables that were not playable.

As far as tips. I didn't know there were different tips. I had a two piece cue that I bought that had a soft tip but not an Elk Master. It dried out and fell off. The repairman at the bowling alley that had a pool hall in it, in San Diego put a hard tip on it. That was the worst tip I have ever played with, glazed like crazy.

mchnhed
08-06-2017, 05:30 AM
Known ppl who have been re-felting tables for over 30 years, they still call it felt.
How can you "re-felt" a table if it isn't called felt?
Wouldn't it be called "re-clothing" a table?

***Actually the material is called baize.***
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Baize
So....Re-baize a table?
Doesn't sound right.
Re-cloth it is then.

jackpot
08-06-2017, 05:51 AM
When you call the pen a screw