PDA

View Full Version : 8 ball Break


wabelly
09-21-2017, 12:49 PM
Is it legal to bump cue ball and hit it on a break. Check rules book cannot find any ruling onit

zencues.com
09-24-2017, 12:25 AM
Do you mean to hit the cue ball twice? If so, then No, it's foul. You can't hit the cue ball twice on any stroke in billiards.

hang-the-9
09-26-2017, 10:58 AM
Is it legal to bump cue ball and hit it on a break. Check rules book cannot find any ruling onit

Nope, it's a foul, but many people ignore this foul on the break and just let the shooter try again. Missing the stack on the break totally, miscuing, double-hit, many people just ignore those on the break. So yes it's a foul, but it's a foul that a lot of people in friendly tournaments just ignore. If you are in a money match or in some "real" tournament vs a local weekly with players you know, then call the foul and take the break. Technically you would have ball in hand but most again take it as a break shot. I've seen it happen in 9 ball where the guy fouled on the break and they were 3-fouled by playing off the 1 thin and playing safe.