PDA

View Full Version : Intro and slump help!

SoundWaves
11-15-2006, 10:29 PM
Hello all,
I would like to start by thanking everyone here for helping to provide such a great resource. I have been reading this forum daily for years and it has taught me more than I could ever express. I was hoping to stop lurking and start posting and add something to a topic, but instead I post tonight a looser looking for help.
I am currently in a terrible slump, about 10 weeks of play with 7 strait losses. I captain an APA team and seem to be putting a lot of pressure on myself. I have been playing consistently for about 4 years and over the last year I have tried hard to take some steps to bring my game up a notch. Starting with hard practice and matching up against the top players on the other teams. After some losses, but good play, I decided to take the summer off and really focus on my game. I welt to pool school and worked hard on my stroke, and changed my game tremendously in a few months. Then the fall league session starts… Week one, loss to a very good player, no sweat. Week two unbelievable play, run every rack. Ready for ESPN too bad I missed the eight ball every time! Well the rest is down hill. Each week losing for different reasons, but almost all self induced, and my performance each week getting worse.
So I guess my question is… How are you demanding on yourself and still have confidence. None of us play perfect, but missing a shot or a position effects us all different. It seems many players bang balls around, win half the time and have a great time, maybe I should drink more. I am better than that. Pool seems to consume my life. I love to learn and do everything I can to progress my game. I just seem to have gotten to the point that my mind is ahead of my body and is never satisfied.

Show me a way to become less self critical and get my confidence back.

Thanks

Varney Cues
11-15-2006, 11:22 PM