PDA

View Full Version : I hit with a Balabushka yesterday!

Williebetmore
05-13-2007, 08:55 AM
Though I'm no cue expert or afficionado, I have always been intrigued by the mystique of the Balabushka cue. Some have suggested that the reputation of the cue was made by the movie/book "The Hustler", but most pool cognoscenti think the reputation is based on the quality of the work, and the quality of the hit. I've always wondered.

Imagine my surprise then yesterday when "Hal2" from Ohio made a visit to Betmore's Basement for a little straight pool; and pulled his Balabushka from the case. He was kind enough to let me hit with it for a while. Just an unbelieveable solid and accurate hit. I've always played with low-deflection Predator or OB-1 shaft; and the hit of the 'Bushka is very different (yes, better). It was just a pleasure to look at, and more of a pleasure to play with.

Many thanks to Hal for bringing it along. He actually uses it in his bar table league as his main playing cue. After 2 long games of straight pool; we decided to play some 8-ball; Hal grabs the Balabushka and prepares to break (he has a sledgehammer break). I had to yell at him to stop; and gave him one of my break cues to use - I had horrible visions of the Balabushka splintering into pieces....VERY bad kharma for my basement.

I had heard a famous cuemaker say before that if you can't break with your playing cue, it must not be very well made - the Balabushka certainly stands up to that test.

cuejoey
05-13-2007, 09:00 AM
There is nothing like Old Growth timber..

Fatboy
05-13-2007, 09:06 AM
i never have, good for you, i like how old cues play.

classiccues
05-13-2007, 09:20 AM