PDA

View Full Version : Finding a game

mhmjr
06-10-2007, 10:57 AM
Hello all, Mike here. I'm relatively new to 14.1 and really enjoy the game. My problem is finding a game. I have always played pool a little on and off, but recently I have wanted to get out and play more and more. I don't know a lot of people in the area for various reasons let alone pool players. When I do find someone to shoot with it seems most want to play 8 or 9 ball. Not that I have anything against these games (ok well I'm not exactly fond of 8-ball but I will play it) most of my interest lies in straight pool. The few people that I do play with any regularity I have taught the rules to 14.1 and they seem to enjoy it.

I guess I am posting this for a few reasons.
1) to see if there are any straight pool players in the Houston area that would care to meet up and play every so often...you'd almost surely be above my skill level, but me personally I will play anyone that would like to.
2) see if anyone has any ideas on how to get more people involved with the game.

The guy who runs 14and1.com (and I think he posts here too) is attempting to setup a national 14.1 league...I'd be interested in playing if there were enough people I could hook up with to start a league. I have posted there as well, but I think this forum probably gets quite a bit more exposure and in the long run, I am just looking for a game, preferably on a regular basis and some regulars to play the game with, league or otherwise.

I apologize in advance if this posting is not appropriate for the forum for any reason, I'm kinda new here and just getting a feel of the place.

-mhmjr

selftaut
06-12-2007, 09:18 AM