PDA

View Full Version : The "L" drill

JohnnyP
07-26-2007, 12:15 PM
I've been working on the L drill for a couple months, and got close a few times. Made eleven twice last night, practicing nothing else for three hours. I don't get bored with it.

How many out there can do it, and how long did it take you?

cuetable
07-26-2007, 12:24 PM
Here is the first CueTable Video Contest we put together with Tiger Products last June, including a layout and a video of a special version of L-Drill :

http://pl.cuetable.com/showthread.php?t=26

I would very much like to start something like this again if people are up for it...

steev
07-26-2007, 12:30 PM
I occasionally do this drill in many variations (left-to-right, right-to-left, every other ball, outside-in, inside-out). Pretty good success rate usually.

try it using no rails :D

-s

Bob Jewett
07-26-2007, 01:51 PM
I've been working on the L drill for a couple months, and got close a few times. Made eleven twice last night, practicing nothing else for three hours. I don't get bored with it.

How many out there can do it, and how long did it take you?
Well, I had been playing a year at least when I saw it for the first time, but I did it the first session that I tried it. Once you get past the corner, it gets easier, at least for me. Here is an article about it http://www.onthebreaknews.com/Jewett3.htm#December04 that might help. Try it with only 9 balls as shown. Move up to more when you can do 9 at least 1/3 of the time.

TheWizard
07-26-2007, 03:41 PM
I have used 30 different practice drills, including the "L" or as I remember it being also called "Around The Corner", I use this drill with 2 balls sets on the 1 table, 15 ball "L" set up at each opposing corners, and I would then practice running out the first set, but then playing position from the last ball of the 1st set, to the 1st ball on the 2nd set at the other end, playing in a continuous fashion :)