PDA

View Full Version : What was the first cue you ever owned?

Poolfiend
11-28-2007, 10:21 PM
Just sitting here thinking about all the amazing cues I've seen sold, traded and worshipped on this site. Makes me wonder if some of those that have graduated to high-end collectibles started out with a hand me down custom cue or a POS.

I will start: My first cue came to me as a birthday present when I was 15. A sweet black graphite Excalibur or Eliminator or something like that. I actually picked it out myself so I can't blame anyone else. I thought it was the coolest thing ever. Since then I graduated to a custom Scruggs and I am awaiting a custom Zylr.

Cuaba
11-28-2007, 10:26 PM
I got a McDermott for Xmas when I was in high school, I think it was a D-9? Since then I've baught Szambotis, Balabushkas, Ginacues, etc.

trustyrusty
11-28-2007, 10:27 PM
Mid 80's Meucci Hustler (sneaky pete). I didn't buy it....I borrowed it for a few years after my pops had Ray Schuler make him a cue :) First cue I ever purchased was a Mali (around '91), but I played with the hustler instead, sold the Mali to a buddy....

manwon
11-28-2007, 10:31 PM
Just sitting here thinking about all the amazing cues I've seen sold, traded and worshipped on this site. Makes me wonder if some of those that have graduated to high-end collectibles started out with a hand me down custom cue or a POS.

I will start: My first cue came to me as a birthday present when I was 15. A sweet black graphite Excalibur or Eliminator or something like that. I actually picked it out myself so I can't blame anyone else. I thought it was the coolest thing ever. Since then I graduated to a custom Scruggs and I am awaiting a custom Zylr.