PDA

View Full Version : break/jump

tom haney
12-02-2007, 06:27 PM
I have an X-Breaker break/jump cue.
It's great for breaking, not so great at jumping.
An acquaintance told me to get a strictly jump cue.
He said no break/jump cue is worth much to jump.
Is he right in your experience?

Darth
12-02-2007, 06:35 PM
You just need to spend time learning how to use it. I've had a X-Breaker for over 1 year now and it works just fine. I make table length jumps with the full cue and as close as 2 inches with the jump handle using a dart stroke. Practice makes permanent.

Irish634
12-02-2007, 06:44 PM
You just need to spend time learning how to use it. I've had a X-Breaker for over 1 year now and it works just fine. I make table length jumps with the full cue and as close as 2 inches with the jump handle using a dart stroke. Practice makes permanent.

I agree, though I have a Varney J/B, the advice is the same. Practice! I am by no means an expert at jumping, but I can when needed.

Just practice with what you have. It'll come.

Craig

MasterClass
12-02-2007, 06:51 PM
I have only heard the opposite.

It is a great Jump cue but still a pretty good break cue.

Some people are even using it as a dedicated jump cue.

Is your X breaker the real one? Could it be one of those Taiwanese replicas? Even if they are, with that plastic tip that they have, jumping should still not be a problem. But breaking with those really suck.

tom haney
12-02-2007, 07:03 PM
I have only heard the opposite.

It is a great Jump cue but still a pretty good break cue.

Some people are even using it as a dedicated jump cue.

Is your X breaker the real one? Could it be one of those Taiwanese replicas? Even if they are, with that plastic tip that they have, jumping should still not be a problem. But breaking with those really suck.

Yes. I got this on a trade with JimS.
I have a feeling everybody's right and it's my inabilities
& not the cue.:)

MasterClass
12-02-2007, 07:29 PM