PDA

View Full Version : Longer cues

maxeypad2007
12-18-2007, 07:00 PM
So how many of you guys play with cues longer than the standard 57-58 inch?

It seems like a lot of pros including efren are using a 60" cue with a longer shaft. Bartram is doing the same only with all the extra length in the butt end.

Why should I use a 60" cue?

poolhall maven
12-18-2007, 07:14 PM
My cue is 60" and I have been using that length for probably 20 years. When I use a standard cue it strokes right through my fingers because I am not used to it. I use the longer shaft for a longer stroke and Pete Ohman of Omen cues makes them for anyone who wants one.

Newton
12-18-2007, 07:38 PM
Maxeypad;

I guess you have heard or read this answer 100 times before; It depends...
For me I WAS a skinny tall guy which developed to be a tall guy...Not so skinny anymore with my 90Kg and 189cm. I have however always had a feeling that I was gripping the Q way to far back on the butt. Long arms is another reason for this.

However when I had a run on my first 30" custom ordered shaft I developed much more (in play) where I was able to grip the Q on a closer to 90`angle of my arm, actually using the leather grip and not holding way back there. The distance to the QB changed as well which again felt more natural for me..

Now after some years of fresh playing(quit in 91, started again in 2005) I discovered this video posted earlier by one of our colleagues here at AZ (unfortunately don't have his post where he announced this, so I can't give him the credit) which pretty much told me that I have been doing what the conclusion of the video tells us without being aware of it and for sure in practice have experienced. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mXJ7bDafTms

So for the bottom line and end this long post, if you are tall, have long arms like me and are used to grip the Q way back on the butt.... There's nothing wrong with that but if you add 1" you could be spot on:)

N

Graciocues
12-18-2007, 07:50 PM