PDA

View Full Version : focus, rythem, the whole 9 yards

da_rookie_77
12-21-2007, 02:40 PM
this is my first year playing leagues. in which im a true 9 in 2 lgs (both v.n.e.a) and im consistently breaking n running 2-3 out of 4 racks when im practicing but iv done hours of research on focus and rhythem articles by pro's n what not and i have come to find out that if i just stay relaxed n dont try to focus i shoot lights out and if i try to focus i miss alot of shots and with the rhythem they all say do this n do that but i get into my stance take 2 practice strokes n then shoot n it works the best with me. n e ways i was wondering if this has something to do with the fact that im what ppl cal a natural shooter or what?

ScottW
12-21-2007, 02:44 PM
You're certainly not a natural speller. :D I kid, I kid!

Could well be that you don't feel the pressure a lot of folks do. Be happy that you're that consistent a player! I wish I could say the same.

Island Drive
12-21-2007, 02:48 PM
It's because your letting it happen, instead of trying to 'make' it happen its what goes on during dead stroke/in the zone etc. .

Neil
12-21-2007, 05:49 PM

David Beck
12-21-2007, 08:10 PM
It seems like I have to allude to The Inner Game of Tennis at least once a day now. Trying to focus means you're trying too hard.

Drew
12-21-2007, 11:43 PM
So how do you explain someone who does not play well at all unless they constantly have to tell themselves to focus? I play best when I concentrate on every single detail: how to stand, how to stroke, where to look, how to chalk, and even how to walk around the table.

David Beck
12-22-2007, 12:45 AM
Maybe you're so busy concentrating that you're not consciously playing the game. Or maybe you've just gotten really good at it.

DaveK
12-22-2007, 10:33 AM