PDA

View Full Version : Oh god do I HATE Straight Pool...

Peer
01-09-2008, 10:45 PM
Well, as the subject line eludes to, I've never been so close to smashing my cue to pieces from pure frustration.

With some persuasions, yesterday I reluctantly entered a straight pool league. The reason given was that it would improve my 8-ball game. I started playing 6 p.m. and wasn't done until well past 1 a.m. -- the last match lasted 4 hours. Since I have some compulsive tendencies (that also include pool) I can easily play for 12 hours straight without breaking a sweat -- but not straight pool with some sloooooooow playing opponents. I'm too restless.

Besides, all this reminds me of a dreadful period in my childhood when our pool club forced us kids to play 3-cushion "to get better at pool." I wonder if it's just me who have this impatient mindset?

By the way, of course I lost... big time.

-- peer

D-Sub
01-09-2008, 11:56 PM
heh...I know the frustration...but for me it's usually because I miss balls that I wouldn't miss in a different game simply because I feel out of my comfort zone in that game

one question though...four hours? that can't be for a single match, race to a normal number like 75-125? I'm no good (high run 29, ONCE) and can get to 125 in 1.5 max...?

ioCross
01-10-2008, 12:57 AM
one of the most frustrating aspects of straight pool is playing a really good player.

i used to gamble cheap with a local old timer. we'd play 20 dollar 9ball sets until i got to a point where i could beat him fairly regularly. he told me he wouldn't play me 9ball any more but he would play me straights for whatever i wanted.

after several sessions of playing him i decided i couldn't beat him at his game. there's nothing more frustrating than playing a 3 hour game where you sit and watch someone run 2 racks then safe you, and every safe you play on him he doubles right back on you, then when you sell out or misshoot a safe him he runs 2 racks then sticks you again.

JustPlay