PDA

View Full Version : OB-1 transition issues

jingle
01-30-2008, 10:17 AM
I have been using an OB-1 shaft on & off for a few months now (alternating with my Josey shaft). For the most part I can switch back and forth without any problems, but I have noticed a couple of lingering issues:

1) Miscues. With the OB-1 I can't go as close to the edge of the cueball as I can with my Josey. I haven't noticed this as much on side english, just on extreme draw or follow shots.

2) Swerve. The OB-1 produces a lot of swerve on extreme english shots, especially slow/soft shots. I played in a tourney a couple of weeks ago and gave up BIH twice because I completely missed the OB when trying a soft thin-hit safety using heavy english (due to swerve).

I'm not saying either shaft is better, because to be honest I'm still trying to decide that for myself. Just wondering if anyone else has similar experiences, or if it's just me?

worriedbeef
01-30-2008, 10:26 AM
2) Swerve. The OB-1 produces a lot of swerve on extreme english shots, especially slow/soft shots.

that's the only issue i have with mine too. but there again to be fair i haven't put in any proper practice with these shots to get a feel for them. the swerve i've noticed seems very consistent though and a few times i have thought about it before a shot, compensated with my aim, and been rewarded with a good hit.

on the issue of going close to the edge of the cue ball, are you using the saem tip on both shafts? with this issue the tip is a huge factor.

jingle
01-30-2008, 10:49 AM
on the issue of going close to the edge of the cue ball, are you using the saem tip on both shafts? .

No, I'm not. I have a Sniper on the Josey and a Triangle on the OB-1. In my case, I don't think that's the problem. I had miscue issues using the Talisman M that was on the OB-1 originally too. I have used Triangles & Snipers for many years and never had persistent miscue issues with either.