Go Back   AzBilliards.com > Blogs > thinking_stinks
Reload this Page Ralf Souquet is The 2011 World Pool Masters Champ
Rate this Entry

Ralf Souquet is The 2011 World Pool Masters Champ

Posted 09-08-2011 at 09:56 AM by thinking_stinks

Ralf Souquet wins yet another World Pool Masters title after defeating defending champion Dennis Orcollo in the final of 2011 World Pool Masters 8-5, in front of the Filipino crowd at SM City North Edsa, Manila.

This is actually Souquet’s 6th World Pool Masters title, having been won the tournament in 1994, 1996, 2000, 2002 and 2006, but for the German, having won the title in the Philippines is the icing on the cake. Souquet, who had previously been in four final appearances of other tournaments held in Manila, has finally put an end to his series of defeats in the Philippines he called “country of pools.”

Before going into the final round against Orcollo, Souquet edged out Finland’s Mika Immonen 8-7 during the first round of the tournament. He then defeated Philippines’ very own Lee Van Corteza in the Quarter Finals 8-6 and won over England’s Darren Appleton 8-7 in the Semi Finals while Orcollo, on the other hand, competed against Tony Drago 8-2, Chang Jung-lin 8-1 and Fu Jianbo 8-5 respectively.

Orcollo who had 5-3 lead advantage blew his chance of being the first one to win the World Pool Masters back to back after missing on the 9th rack’s 4th ball. The Kaiser took it from there and ended up bagging World Pool Masters top prize of $20,000, crashing Orcollo’s dream of defending his crown and leaving him with the $10,000 runner up prize.
Views 2591 Comments 0 Edit Tags
« Prev     Main     Next »
Total Comments 0



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.