View Single Post
Old
  (#8)
hang-the-9
AzB Silver Member
hang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond repute
 
hang-the-9's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 10,853
vCash: 1700
iTrader: 9 / 100%
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: MA
   
05-11-2019, 12:54 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by hurricane145 View Post
I go with no. Not a legally pocketed 8 ball. By shooting at the strip ball first you are either implying (whether you want to or not) that you are taking the stripes regardless of calling the 8 ball or not or just plain fouling the 8 ball shot.
But hitting a ball first is not that you are selecting a group, you are just hitting that ball first. You can play safe as a first shot after the break and hit a ball but not nominate that as your group since you did not pocket a ball yet. And since you have not yet picked a group by pocketing anything, all the balls are legally "open".


"I'll back you against anyone, as long as you did not know you were playng for money"

Charter member of the D-Bag Club, we stick to the letter of the rules not the spirit, and up yours!
  
Reply With Quote