View Single Post
Old
  (#14)
hang-the-9
AzB Silver Member
hang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond reputehang-the-9 has a reputation beyond repute
 
hang-the-9's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 10,853
vCash: 1700
iTrader: 9 / 100%
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: MA
   
10-17-2019, 06:48 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by westcoast View Post
While the rule book is clear, it is a bit perplexing why sinking a ball with your sleeve, hand, or stick isn’t a foul while hitting a ball off the table is a foul. In both circumstances the ball left the table accidentally- shouldn’t the consequence be the same?
Leaving the table is not quite the same thing as falling into a pocket, because there are actual holes in the table. It's like eating your food or throwing it out the window, in both cases it's gone, but because of two totally different situations. The rails on the table are there to prevent a ball from leaving it, the holes in the table are there to accept pocketed balls. In one case you are going against the design of the table, in the other, the table is just physically allowing the ball to drop.


"I'll back you against anyone, as long as you did not know you were playng for money"

Charter member of the D-Bag Club, we stick to the letter of the rules not the spirit, and up yours!
  
Reply With Quote