Go Back   AzBilliards.com > Main Category > Main Forum
Reload this Page This rejected shot should count IMO, what say you?
Reply
Page 1 of 6 1 23 Last »
 
Share Thread Tools Rate Thread
This rejected shot should count IMO, what say you?
Old
  (#1)
DCS_SF
AzB Silver Member
DCS_SF has a reputation beyond reputeDCS_SF has a reputation beyond reputeDCS_SF has a reputation beyond reputeDCS_SF has a reputation beyond reputeDCS_SF has a reputation beyond reputeDCS_SF has a reputation beyond reputeDCS_SF has a reputation beyond reputeDCS_SF has a reputation beyond reputeDCS_SF has a reputation beyond reputeDCS_SF has a reputation beyond reputeDCS_SF has a reputation beyond repute
 
DCS_SF's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 373
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: San Francisco
   
This rejected shot should count IMO, what say you? - 06-08-2017, 05:04 PM

Someone posted this over on Reddit and I really don't understand why this is not a legal pocket. In my opinion the ball leaves the playing surface, drops all the way in and at that point it should count. Why would a player be punished for what seems to be a design flaw of the pocket itself and not the a lack of skill? A soft pocket or even just a ball return would likely not cause this to happen.

In this case I would just be pissed.

Shot at 34:51, but it should take you right to it.
https://youtu.be/mwlEfUJRTrI?t=34m51s
  
Reply With Quote

Old
  (#2)
gxman
AzB Silver Member
gxman has a reputation beyond reputegxman has a reputation beyond reputegxman has a reputation beyond reputegxman has a reputation beyond reputegxman has a reputation beyond reputegxman has a reputation beyond reputegxman has a reputation beyond reputegxman has a reputation beyond reputegxman has a reputation beyond reputegxman has a reputation beyond reputegxman has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 4,540
vCash: 500
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: South Louisiana
   
06-08-2017, 05:08 PM

There was a shot like that at the World Pool Series 8 ball event in January. I forgot who was the playing. I think it was on a Rasson table. Not a Diamond for sure.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
hurricane145
AzB Silver Member
hurricane145 has a reputation beyond reputehurricane145 has a reputation beyond reputehurricane145 has a reputation beyond reputehurricane145 has a reputation beyond reputehurricane145 has a reputation beyond reputehurricane145 has a reputation beyond reputehurricane145 has a reputation beyond reputehurricane145 has a reputation beyond reputehurricane145 has a reputation beyond reputehurricane145 has a reputation beyond reputehurricane145 has a reputation beyond repute
 
hurricane145's Avatar
 
Status: Online
Posts: 90
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Nov 2012
   
06-08-2017, 05:15 PM

I used to play in a bar tournament that had a Valley table. If you put a lot of draw on the cue ball and was shooting a ball into one side pocket straight on, the ball would pocket then crawl up the pocket backing and come back onto the table!
I just sucked it up as a lesson about that particular table and learned something from it. It happened to others as well once in a while. Then it was just funny!!
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
PocketSpeed11
AzB Long Member
PocketSpeed11 has a reputation beyond reputePocketSpeed11 has a reputation beyond reputePocketSpeed11 has a reputation beyond reputePocketSpeed11 has a reputation beyond reputePocketSpeed11 has a reputation beyond reputePocketSpeed11 has a reputation beyond reputePocketSpeed11 has a reputation beyond reputePocketSpeed11 has a reputation beyond reputePocketSpeed11 has a reputation beyond reputePocketSpeed11 has a reputation beyond reputePocketSpeed11 has a reputation beyond repute
 
PocketSpeed11's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 714
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: New Mexico
   
06-08-2017, 05:26 PM

Other than the ball spitting back out he had perfect position for the 9. But I don't understand why he had to turn such a simple positional shot into a tougher positional shot. Perhaps the angle I'm seeing is less severe than it actually was or I'm just used to playing on slower felt.

Allowing these flukes to be counted as pocketed would just bring too much controversy, particularly if they effect other balls when they come back on the table.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
Poolplaya9
Tellin' it like it is...
Poolplaya9 has a reputation beyond reputePoolplaya9 has a reputation beyond reputePoolplaya9 has a reputation beyond reputePoolplaya9 has a reputation beyond reputePoolplaya9 has a reputation beyond reputePoolplaya9 has a reputation beyond reputePoolplaya9 has a reputation beyond reputePoolplaya9 has a reputation beyond reputePoolplaya9 has a reputation beyond reputePoolplaya9 has a reputation beyond reputePoolplaya9 has a reputation beyond repute
 
Poolplaya9's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,533
vCash: 800
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Join Date: Aug 2005
  Send a message via AIM to Poolplaya9  
06-08-2017, 06:09 PM

As others have said it sucks royally but "it either stays down or it doesn't" is the only way to deal with this fairly for all situations.

Here are a couple of other times this has occurred including one where it happened same ball same pocket two shots in a row, one from each player:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bu43kJPZr6E#t=3m30s
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CRxo-eRCDws

And a couple of other threads discussing this where you can get some other feedback on the topic:
http://forums.azbilliards.com/showthread.php?t=409094
http://forums.azbilliards.com/showthread.php?t=169470
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
mchnhed
I Came, I Shot, I Choked
mchnhed has a reputation beyond reputemchnhed has a reputation beyond reputemchnhed has a reputation beyond reputemchnhed has a reputation beyond reputemchnhed has a reputation beyond reputemchnhed has a reputation beyond reputemchnhed has a reputation beyond reputemchnhed has a reputation beyond reputemchnhed has a reputation beyond reputemchnhed has a reputation beyond reputemchnhed has a reputation beyond repute
 
mchnhed's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,920
vCash: 500
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: North Hollywood
   
06-08-2017, 06:12 PM

Doesn't count in golf.
http://www.golfdigest.com/story/watc...op-out-of-hole

Quote:
Originally Posted by DCS_SF View Post
Someone posted this over on Reddit and I really don't understand why this is not a legal pocket. In my opinion the ball leaves the playing surface, drops all the way in and at that point it should count. Why would a player be punished for what seems to be a design flaw of the pocket itself and not the a lack of skill? A soft pocket or even just a ball return would likely not cause this to happen.

In this case I would just be pissed.

Shot at 34:51, but it should take you right to it.
https://youtu.be/mwlEfUJRTrI?t=34m51s

Last edited by mchnhed; 06-08-2017 at 06:15 PM.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Renegade_56
R56 Custom Cues
Renegade_56 has a reputation beyond reputeRenegade_56 has a reputation beyond reputeRenegade_56 has a reputation beyond reputeRenegade_56 has a reputation beyond reputeRenegade_56 has a reputation beyond reputeRenegade_56 has a reputation beyond reputeRenegade_56 has a reputation beyond reputeRenegade_56 has a reputation beyond reputeRenegade_56 has a reputation beyond reputeRenegade_56 has a reputation beyond reputeRenegade_56 has a reputation beyond repute
 
Renegade_56's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,852
vCash: 500
iTrader: 28 / 100%
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: New Bern, NC
   
06-08-2017, 06:12 PM

It stopped in the pocket or it didn't. Once you start anything else, we may as well count bank shots and caroms that we meant to make, but didn't.


Renegade_56

If winning is so easy why aren't the losers doing it?

R56 Custom Cues on Facebook
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
gxman
AzB Silver Member
gxman has a reputation beyond reputegxman has a reputation beyond reputegxman has a reputation beyond reputegxman has a reputation beyond reputegxman has a reputation beyond reputegxman has a reputation beyond reputegxman has a reputation beyond reputegxman has a reputation beyond reputegxman has a reputation beyond reputegxman has a reputation beyond reputegxman has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 4,540
vCash: 500
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: South Louisiana
   
06-08-2017, 06:14 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Poolplaya9 View Post
As others have said it sucks royally but "it either stays down or it doesn't" is the only way to deal with this fairly for all situations.

Here are a couple of other times this has occurred including one where it happened same ball same pocket two shots in a row, one from each player:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bu43kJPZr6E#t=3m30s
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CRxo-eRCDws

And a couple of other threads discussing this where you can get some other feedback on the topic:
http://forums.azbilliards.com/showthread.php?t=409094
http://forums.azbilliards.com/showthread.php?t=169470
I had to laugh but efren did not think it was very funny.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
DirtyJersey
AzB Silver Member
DirtyJersey has a reputation beyond reputeDirtyJersey has a reputation beyond reputeDirtyJersey has a reputation beyond reputeDirtyJersey has a reputation beyond reputeDirtyJersey has a reputation beyond reputeDirtyJersey has a reputation beyond reputeDirtyJersey has a reputation beyond reputeDirtyJersey has a reputation beyond reputeDirtyJersey has a reputation beyond reputeDirtyJersey has a reputation beyond reputeDirtyJersey has a reputation beyond repute
 
DirtyJersey's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 295
vCash: 500
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Dirty Jersey, of course
   
06-08-2017, 06:25 PM

This happened to me in a corner pkt. twice in 1 9 ball match on the 7 ball both times. The bottom of the corner pkt. was cut out so the ball would fall directly onto the metal rail return which acted like a springboard if hit hard. On the other pockets the plastic insert curved so the balls would be directed down the returns. Sucked but rules are rules.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Chopdoc
AzB Silver Member
Chopdoc has a reputation beyond reputeChopdoc has a reputation beyond reputeChopdoc has a reputation beyond reputeChopdoc has a reputation beyond reputeChopdoc has a reputation beyond reputeChopdoc has a reputation beyond reputeChopdoc has a reputation beyond reputeChopdoc has a reputation beyond reputeChopdoc has a reputation beyond reputeChopdoc has a reputation beyond reputeChopdoc has a reputation beyond repute
 
Chopdoc's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 23,675
vCash: 500
iTrader: 21 / 100%
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Palm Coast, Fl
   
06-08-2017, 07:03 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by DCS_SF View Post
what seems to be a design flaw of the pocket itself and not the a lack of skill?
It's been covered well in the forum. The shot is no good.

IMHO, in this case, skill had something to do with it. He shot the ball too hard anyway.

It has happened to me. I had shot the ball too hard anyway, and I knew this right away.


.


Bury me with my JOSS....


"Chop Lock"
Member of the world famous Lock Society

Cases I made: http://forums.azbilliards.com/showthread.php?t=258632
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
PhilosopherKing
AzB Silver Member
PhilosopherKing has a reputation beyond reputePhilosopherKing has a reputation beyond reputePhilosopherKing has a reputation beyond reputePhilosopherKing has a reputation beyond reputePhilosopherKing has a reputation beyond reputePhilosopherKing has a reputation beyond reputePhilosopherKing has a reputation beyond reputePhilosopherKing has a reputation beyond reputePhilosopherKing has a reputation beyond reputePhilosopherKing has a reputation beyond reputePhilosopherKing has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 2,466
vCash: 500
iTrader: 22 / 100%
Join Date: Nov 2008
   
06-08-2017, 07:30 PM

Should there be do-overs when the ball skids?
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
PoolBum
Abracadabra!

PoolBum has a reputation beyond reputePoolBum has a reputation beyond reputePoolBum has a reputation beyond reputePoolBum has a reputation beyond reputePoolBum has a reputation beyond reputePoolBum has a reputation beyond reputePoolBum has a reputation beyond reputePoolBum has a reputation beyond reputePoolBum has a reputation beyond reputePoolBum has a reputation beyond reputePoolBum has a reputation beyond repute
 
PoolBum's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 12,209
vCash: 1190
iTrader: 12 / 100%
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Headed for Andromeda
   
06-08-2017, 07:38 PM

This happened to me in the finals of the collegiate (ACUI) 9-ball championship.


"He knew what those jubilant crowds did not know, but could have learned from books; that the plague bacillus never dies or disappears for good...and that perhaps the day would come when, for the bane and the enlightening of men, it would rouse up its rats again and send them forth to die in a happy city."
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Yotehntr
AzB Silver Member
Yotehntr has a reputation beyond reputeYotehntr has a reputation beyond reputeYotehntr has a reputation beyond reputeYotehntr has a reputation beyond reputeYotehntr has a reputation beyond reputeYotehntr has a reputation beyond reputeYotehntr has a reputation beyond reputeYotehntr has a reputation beyond reputeYotehntr has a reputation beyond reputeYotehntr has a reputation beyond reputeYotehntr has a reputation beyond repute
 
Yotehntr's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 171
vCash: 500
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Join Date: Jul 2016
   
06-08-2017, 09:28 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilosopherKing View Post
Should there be do-overs when the ball skids?
The same thing I was thinking!
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
DCS_SF
AzB Silver Member
DCS_SF has a reputation beyond reputeDCS_SF has a reputation beyond reputeDCS_SF has a reputation beyond reputeDCS_SF has a reputation beyond reputeDCS_SF has a reputation beyond reputeDCS_SF has a reputation beyond reputeDCS_SF has a reputation beyond reputeDCS_SF has a reputation beyond reputeDCS_SF has a reputation beyond reputeDCS_SF has a reputation beyond reputeDCS_SF has a reputation beyond repute
 
DCS_SF's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 373
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: San Francisco
   
06-08-2017, 09:39 PM

I get the points about making the rules fair, but to say this anything like a ball skid is kind of reaching. The ball crawled out from the bottom of the pocket.

I also get he played the shot unnecessarily hard also. I know it shouldn't count because it gets complicated quickly in these types of situations. It's still frustrating as **** to be punished for what is essentially a problem with the pocket though. Just giving the guy some pity is all.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Straightpool_99
I see dead balls
Straightpool_99 has a reputation beyond reputeStraightpool_99 has a reputation beyond reputeStraightpool_99 has a reputation beyond reputeStraightpool_99 has a reputation beyond reputeStraightpool_99 has a reputation beyond reputeStraightpool_99 has a reputation beyond reputeStraightpool_99 has a reputation beyond reputeStraightpool_99 has a reputation beyond reputeStraightpool_99 has a reputation beyond reputeStraightpool_99 has a reputation beyond reputeStraightpool_99 has a reputation beyond repute
 
Straightpool_99's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,749
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Blog Entries: 6
Join Date: Feb 2006
   
06-08-2017, 09:52 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by DCS_SF View Post
Someone posted this over on Reddit and I really don't understand why this is not a legal pocket. In my opinion the ball leaves the playing surface, drops all the way in and at that point it should count. Why would a player be punished for what seems to be a design flaw of the pocket itself and not the a lack of skill? A soft pocket or even just a ball return would likely not cause this to happen.

In this case I would just be pissed.

Shot at 34:51, but it should take you right to it.
https://youtu.be/mwlEfUJRTrI?t=34m51s
Bad pocket design. Anyway, when the player elevated his cue and hit as hard as he did, he caused the object ball to jump slightly, which may have been a factor (edit: on closer inspection that is not what happened here, the ball was down and came back up. Bad pocket design for sure) . On furniture tables and "other" tables whos name shall not be mentioned with "flush" pockets, when you do this and hit the center pocket dead straight on, you hit the back of the pocket and the cueball bounces straight back, it happens a bit in snooker as well. This is why the GC have pockets that stick out above the rail a bit. This hardly ever happens with those.

Last edited by Straightpool_99; 06-08-2017 at 09:59 PM.
  
Reply With Quote
Reply
Page 1 of 6 1 23 Last »

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.