Go Back   AzBilliards.com > Main Category > Cuesports: Rules & Strategies
Reload this Page 8 ball pocketed by bridge hand before shot
Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Rate Thread
8 ball pocketed by bridge hand before shot
Old
  (#1)
zstuf
AzB Bronze Member
zstuf is on a distinguished road
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Jun 2020
   
8 ball pocketed by bridge hand before shot - 06-20-2020, 04:38 PM

Under BCA rules what is the proper rule for an 8ball being pocketed by the bridge hand before a shot.
Opponent should have the right to replace the 8ball back to its position before the incidental contact;
but what if the opponent chooses not to replace the 8ball
is it loss of game?
What should happen if the 8ball is contacted headed straight for a pocket and the shooter purposely stops the 8ball from going in the pocket.
Is that loss of game?
Is it a foul for purposely touching the 8ball
Is it loss of game due to the original contact would resulted in the 8ball being pocketed?
  
Reply With Quote

Old
  (#2)
zstuf
AzB Bronze Member
zstuf is on a distinguished road
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Jun 2020
   
06-21-2020, 07:53 AM

to clarify
If the bridge hand contacts the 8ball before a shot and sends the 8ball towards a pocket and the shooter purposely stops the 8ball from going in the pocket
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Bob Jewett
AZB Osmium Member
Bob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond repute
 
Bob Jewett's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 18,876
vCash: 1700
iTrader: 15 / 100%
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
   
06-21-2020, 08:16 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by zstuf View Post
to clarify
If the bridge hand contacts the 8ball before a shot and sends the 8ball towards a pocket and the shooter purposely stops the 8ball from going in the pocket
Even under the relaxed rules of "cue ball fouls only", intentionally touching any ball in play is a foul.

As to what should happen if a ball is pocketed by random clumsiness, here is what the CSI (including BCAPL) rules have to say:
If a single disturbed ball falls into a pocket with no effect on the outcome of a shot,your opponent has the restoration option. However, if the disturbed ball is designated by specific game rules as the game winning ball, it must be restored. If the game-winning ball is disturbed and falls into a pocket when there is an effect on the outcome of the shot,it is loss of game.
This is on page 34 of the current CSI rule set. There are some other details of "cue ball fouls only" there. That is available on the playcsipool.com website.

I think it's better to play by the full rules instead of leaving touch fouls out.


Bob Jewett
SF Billiard Academy
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
zstuf
AzB Bronze Member
zstuf is on a distinguished road
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Jun 2020
   
06-23-2020, 02:24 AM

Thank you Bob Jewett that helps a lot.
  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.