Remove Sharpie From a Shaft

subdude1974

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Have a signed shaft and want to remove the sig and curious how to do it without damaging the shaft. Thanks.

jokrswylde

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Have a signed shaft and want to remove the sig and curious how to do it without damaging the shaft. Thanks.

I am not sure, I am no shaft expert. But if this was my shaft, I would try:

I would try either:
Goop off
mineral spirits
turpentine

followed by high grit sanding and burnishing with wax paper.

If none of that worked, I would sharpie the whole shaft black and tell people it was one of them fancy Revo's

Celophanewrap

Call me Grace
Silver Member
Probably the best you can do is a good cleaning. Some of the sharpie has likely soaked
into the grain, without some light sanding it is probably going to show at least a little.
I've had some luck removing sharpie with the Mr. Clean magic erasers sponges but again
that's akin to sanding. I've also had some luck with light bleach solution and water and a
little household bathroom cleanser.
I was thinking maybe "goop off" (or goo off?), I've used that to remove marker from many different
surfaces when nothing else would work, never used it on a shaft though.
I might also suggest a few cleanings several days apart. Good luck

or like jokrswyldesaid, just sharpie the whole thing,, and tell everyone it's a wood-fibre cue.
no one will ever draw a distinction between wood fibre and carbon fiber, and you'll be telling the truth

Last edited:

Johnson

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I remove marker from the bottom of shoes I resell from thrift stores and Magic Eraser with rubbing alcohol is one of the best ways (if not the best) to remove it and is also recommended for cleaning your shaft ironically enough. I buy the Magic Erasers off of Ebay in bulk. Check out the thread below for more info:

https://forums.azbilliards.com/showthread.php?t=263898

Dustin_J

Commence the Jigglin!
Silver Member