South Bend Lathe
Old
  (#1)
DanO
AzB Silver Member
DanO has a reputation beyond reputeDanO has a reputation beyond reputeDanO has a reputation beyond reputeDanO has a reputation beyond reputeDanO has a reputation beyond reputeDanO has a reputation beyond reputeDanO has a reputation beyond reputeDanO has a reputation beyond reputeDanO has a reputation beyond reputeDanO has a reputation beyond reputeDanO has a reputation beyond repute
 
DanO's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 501
vCash: 500
iTrader: 8 / 100%
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dixon, IL
   
South Bend Lathe - 03-08-2014, 09:51 AM

I have an opportunity to buy a South Bend 9 with a 3 Ĺ bed. Right now I have a Cuesmith deluxe that I do everything on accept inlay work. I think I would like the precision of a true machining lathe but I donít think this will do what I want? I could add a rear chuck for tip and ferrule work but with the small ō3/4 through bore, no joint work. Also the bed length is too short to do anything else at full length.

Is there any other operations I could use this for? Somebody talk me out of this thing.
  
Reply With Quote

Old
  (#2)
opiesbro
Big Al Customs
opiesbro has a reputation beyond reputeopiesbro has a reputation beyond reputeopiesbro has a reputation beyond reputeopiesbro has a reputation beyond reputeopiesbro has a reputation beyond reputeopiesbro has a reputation beyond reputeopiesbro has a reputation beyond reputeopiesbro has a reputation beyond reputeopiesbro has a reputation beyond reputeopiesbro has a reputation beyond reputeopiesbro has a reputation beyond repute
 
opiesbro's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 457
vCash: 500
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Missouri
   
03-08-2014, 10:02 AM

Save your $ as you will fine this more of a hassle in your shop then you gain. Tip work doesn't need a super accurate lathe.

Sent from my XT901 using Tapatalk


Allen Forquer
Big Al Custom Cues
bigalcustomcues@hotmail.com
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
JoeyInCali
AzB Silver Member

JoeyInCali has a reputation beyond reputeJoeyInCali has a reputation beyond reputeJoeyInCali has a reputation beyond reputeJoeyInCali has a reputation beyond reputeJoeyInCali has a reputation beyond reputeJoeyInCali has a reputation beyond reputeJoeyInCali has a reputation beyond reputeJoeyInCali has a reputation beyond reputeJoeyInCali has a reputation beyond reputeJoeyInCali has a reputation beyond reputeJoeyInCali has a reputation beyond repute
 
JoeyInCali's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 23,490
vCash: 4400
iTrader: 79 / 100%
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: OC, California
   
03-08-2014, 12:24 PM

3/4' bore makes it a shaft work lathe only.
You can work on big pieces between centers or using the steady rest, but why bother?
SB9 also has a very small compound. Really a big fault of a lot of those old lathes. Even big Sheldons and Logans have relatively small compounds.
I say look for a Clausing 5900 series or Cincinnati .
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Thomas Wayne
AzB Silver Member
Thomas Wayne has a reputation beyond reputeThomas Wayne has a reputation beyond reputeThomas Wayne has a reputation beyond reputeThomas Wayne has a reputation beyond reputeThomas Wayne has a reputation beyond reputeThomas Wayne has a reputation beyond reputeThomas Wayne has a reputation beyond reputeThomas Wayne has a reputation beyond reputeThomas Wayne has a reputation beyond reputeThomas Wayne has a reputation beyond reputeThomas Wayne has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 772
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Oct 2007
   
03-08-2014, 12:36 PM

This would be about the 3rd or 4th lathe for you to buy, after you have a couple bigger, more robust units in your shop. It could be very handy for small parts and incidental operations, but far too limited for your first "real" lathe.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
KJ Cues
Pro Cue Builder & Repair
KJ Cues has a reputation beyond reputeKJ Cues has a reputation beyond reputeKJ Cues has a reputation beyond reputeKJ Cues has a reputation beyond reputeKJ Cues has a reputation beyond reputeKJ Cues has a reputation beyond reputeKJ Cues has a reputation beyond reputeKJ Cues has a reputation beyond reputeKJ Cues has a reputation beyond reputeKJ Cues has a reputation beyond reputeKJ Cues has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 4,035
vCash: 500
iTrader: 110 / 100%
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: On Lake George, NE Indiana
   
03-08-2014, 03:04 PM

"Somebody talk me out of this thing."

You don't need anymore convincing, you're doing a fine job.
But since you've asked; you don't want this lathe.

First off, it's a Southbend. They have soft ways and soft split-nuts.
Parts are outrageously expensive. You'd think you were buying parts for a Hardinge.
Honestly, I don't see this machine paying for itself in any type of cue-work
and I don't know the asking price. Seriously, there are tons of better machines.

KJ
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
BLACHEART42
AzB Bronze Member
BLACHEART42 has a reputation beyond reputeBLACHEART42 has a reputation beyond reputeBLACHEART42 has a reputation beyond reputeBLACHEART42 has a reputation beyond reputeBLACHEART42 has a reputation beyond reputeBLACHEART42 has a reputation beyond reputeBLACHEART42 has a reputation beyond reputeBLACHEART42 has a reputation beyond reputeBLACHEART42 has a reputation beyond reputeBLACHEART42 has a reputation beyond reputeBLACHEART42 has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 47
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Illinois
   
03-08-2014, 06:34 PM

I have 6 lathes. My 1st was a South Bend like yours. I had the spindle bored out to 1.33 ". I made Qs with that lathe for 2 yrs. Then I bought a Porper etc etc. I still use that lathe & it has served me well...
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Jim Baxter
AzB Silver Member

Jim Baxter has a reputation beyond reputeJim Baxter has a reputation beyond reputeJim Baxter has a reputation beyond reputeJim Baxter has a reputation beyond reputeJim Baxter has a reputation beyond reputeJim Baxter has a reputation beyond reputeJim Baxter has a reputation beyond reputeJim Baxter has a reputation beyond reputeJim Baxter has a reputation beyond reputeJim Baxter has a reputation beyond reputeJim Baxter has a reputation beyond repute
 
Jim Baxter's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 10,072
vCash: 2700
iTrader: 458 / 100%
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Buckley, Wa
   
03-08-2014, 08:53 PM

I have a 9x28 and it is in use a lot , making butt caps , cutting ring , turning squares round is just part of its duties , I could not do with out it . I also have 3 other lathes for J/ps and cues . Home made critter for J/ps and a Hightower Delux , along with a small metal lathe 6x14 . If the price is right , I'd get it . jim


Custom Joint Protectors for Sale





Contact info Ph. 253-226-0932 Never text me ................ Email jbaxte@earthlink.net
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Sloppy Pockets
AzB Silver Member
Sloppy Pockets has a reputation beyond reputeSloppy Pockets has a reputation beyond reputeSloppy Pockets has a reputation beyond reputeSloppy Pockets has a reputation beyond reputeSloppy Pockets has a reputation beyond reputeSloppy Pockets has a reputation beyond reputeSloppy Pockets has a reputation beyond reputeSloppy Pockets has a reputation beyond reputeSloppy Pockets has a reputation beyond reputeSloppy Pockets has a reputation beyond reputeSloppy Pockets has a reputation beyond repute
 
Sloppy Pockets's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 2,820
vCash: 500
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Just outside the Blue Line
   
03-08-2014, 09:44 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by BLACHEART42 View Post
I have 6 lathes. My 1st was a South Bend like yours. I had the spindle bored out to 1.33 ". I made Qs with that lathe for 2 yrs. Then I bought a Porper etc etc. I still use that lathe & it has served me well...
Does anyone know if my Logan with a small bore spindle can be bored out? That would solve a lot of problems until I can locate a better lathe.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
DanO
AzB Silver Member
DanO has a reputation beyond reputeDanO has a reputation beyond reputeDanO has a reputation beyond reputeDanO has a reputation beyond reputeDanO has a reputation beyond reputeDanO has a reputation beyond reputeDanO has a reputation beyond reputeDanO has a reputation beyond reputeDanO has a reputation beyond reputeDanO has a reputation beyond reputeDanO has a reputation beyond repute
 
DanO's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 501
vCash: 500
iTrader: 8 / 100%
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dixon, IL
   
03-09-2014, 07:25 AM

$1200 and supposedly came out of a high school. If it had the 4 1/2 bed I think I'd jump but this will take up a lot of space for what I could utilize it for. Plus the small bore would drive me nuts.

Thanks gentlemen. It's nice to hear what real cuemakers are using real lathes for...
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
JoeyInCali
AzB Silver Member

JoeyInCali has a reputation beyond reputeJoeyInCali has a reputation beyond reputeJoeyInCali has a reputation beyond reputeJoeyInCali has a reputation beyond reputeJoeyInCali has a reputation beyond reputeJoeyInCali has a reputation beyond reputeJoeyInCali has a reputation beyond reputeJoeyInCali has a reputation beyond reputeJoeyInCali has a reputation beyond reputeJoeyInCali has a reputation beyond reputeJoeyInCali has a reputation beyond repute
 
JoeyInCali's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 23,490
vCash: 4400
iTrader: 79 / 100%
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: OC, California
   
03-09-2014, 12:25 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sloppy Pockets View Post
Does anyone know if my Logan with a small bore spindle can be bored out? That would solve a lot of problems until I can locate a better lathe.
You can but, then your chuck would be clinging on air .
It won't be pretty when it lands on your lap.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
Sloppy Pockets
AzB Silver Member
Sloppy Pockets has a reputation beyond reputeSloppy Pockets has a reputation beyond reputeSloppy Pockets has a reputation beyond reputeSloppy Pockets has a reputation beyond reputeSloppy Pockets has a reputation beyond reputeSloppy Pockets has a reputation beyond reputeSloppy Pockets has a reputation beyond reputeSloppy Pockets has a reputation beyond reputeSloppy Pockets has a reputation beyond reputeSloppy Pockets has a reputation beyond reputeSloppy Pockets has a reputation beyond repute
 
Sloppy Pockets's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 2,820
vCash: 500
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Just outside the Blue Line
   
03-10-2014, 08:27 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeyInCali View Post
You can but, then your chuck would be clinging on air .
It won't be pretty when it lands on your lap.
Thanks, Joey. If figured as much, but wanted to be sure. I've got nothing into the lathe because a friend gave it to me.

I'm still kicking myself for not moving faster a on real nice Logan with the large bore, long bed and quick-change gearbox that came up on CL last winter. If I had called four hours sooner I'd have been the one getting it loaded on my truck instead of the other guy. $800, and it looked practically unused in the pics.

Haven't found anything like it at any price in CL searches covering NY and all of New England. No Clausings either. Frustrating.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
pescadoman
Randy
pescadoman has a reputation beyond reputepescadoman has a reputation beyond reputepescadoman has a reputation beyond reputepescadoman has a reputation beyond reputepescadoman has a reputation beyond reputepescadoman has a reputation beyond reputepescadoman has a reputation beyond reputepescadoman has a reputation beyond reputepescadoman has a reputation beyond reputepescadoman has a reputation beyond reputepescadoman has a reputation beyond repute
 
pescadoman's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 2,924
vCash: 25
iTrader: 12 / 100%
Join Date: Dec 2008
   
03-10-2014, 09:46 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sloppy Pockets View Post
Thanks, Joey. If figured as much, but wanted to be sure. I've got nothing into the lathe because a friend gave it to me.

I'm still kicking myself for not moving faster a on real nice Logan with the large bore, long bed and quick-change gearbox that came up on CL last winter. If I had called four hours sooner I'd have been the one getting it loaded on my truck instead of the other guy. $800, and it looked practically unused in the pics.

Haven't found anything like it at any price in CL searches covering NY and all of New England. No Clausings either. Frustrating.
I know of another Logan for 1150 in California if you are intested. 14x40 with the big enough bore...6550 5650...someting like that.


Randy
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Sloppy Pockets
AzB Silver Member
Sloppy Pockets has a reputation beyond reputeSloppy Pockets has a reputation beyond reputeSloppy Pockets has a reputation beyond reputeSloppy Pockets has a reputation beyond reputeSloppy Pockets has a reputation beyond reputeSloppy Pockets has a reputation beyond reputeSloppy Pockets has a reputation beyond reputeSloppy Pockets has a reputation beyond reputeSloppy Pockets has a reputation beyond reputeSloppy Pockets has a reputation beyond reputeSloppy Pockets has a reputation beyond repute
 
Sloppy Pockets's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 2,820
vCash: 500
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Just outside the Blue Line
   
03-12-2014, 07:52 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by pescadoman View Post
I know of another Logan for 1150 in California if you are intested. 14x40 with the big enough bore...6550 5650...someting like that.
I would be very interested in it, but I'm 3000 miles away in NY. Great price if it's in good condition, though.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
EightballJunkie
AzB Silver Member
EightballJunkie has a reputation beyond reputeEightballJunkie has a reputation beyond reputeEightballJunkie has a reputation beyond reputeEightballJunkie has a reputation beyond reputeEightballJunkie has a reputation beyond reputeEightballJunkie has a reputation beyond reputeEightballJunkie has a reputation beyond reputeEightballJunkie has a reputation beyond reputeEightballJunkie has a reputation beyond reputeEightballJunkie has a reputation beyond reputeEightballJunkie has a reputation beyond repute
 
EightballJunkie's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,033
vCash: 500
iTrader: 4 / 100%
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: SF Bay Area
   
03-12-2014, 10:16 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by pescadoman View Post
I know of another Logan for 1150 in California if you are intested. 14x40 with the big enough bore...6550 5650...someting like that.
That's a whole lot of machine for the price. Would you happen to know if it's got the threaded or tapered spindle nose?


  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
newguy99
http://www.palmercue.com/
newguy99 has a reputation beyond reputenewguy99 has a reputation beyond reputenewguy99 has a reputation beyond reputenewguy99 has a reputation beyond reputenewguy99 has a reputation beyond reputenewguy99 has a reputation beyond reputenewguy99 has a reputation beyond reputenewguy99 has a reputation beyond reputenewguy99 has a reputation beyond reputenewguy99 has a reputation beyond reputenewguy99 has a reputation beyond repute
 
newguy99's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 128
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Blog Entries: 2
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: CONN
   
06-27-2014, 06:14 PM

I have 6 south bend 13 x 36 with hard beds the later ones had hard beds i have no problems with them 3 have custom bars we had made all adjustale for pro tapers from 10 to 15" iam setting up 2 more i also have alot of extra parts if anyone needs some the little lathe seem to be a pain when you have to change tools center /drills i find it pretty quick on a regular lathe just pop out the drill chuck and i have a chuck for every tool so its quick saves me alot of time
  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.