Go Back   AzBilliards.com > Products Talk > Ask The Cuemaker
Reload this Page Can a Revo shaft have the joint changed
Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Rate Thread
Can a Revo shaft have the joint changed
Old
  (#1)
Fastrs
AzB Silver Member
Fastrs has a reputation beyond reputeFastrs has a reputation beyond reputeFastrs has a reputation beyond reputeFastrs has a reputation beyond reputeFastrs has a reputation beyond reputeFastrs has a reputation beyond reputeFastrs has a reputation beyond reputeFastrs has a reputation beyond reputeFastrs has a reputation beyond reputeFastrs has a reputation beyond reputeFastrs has a reputation beyond repute
 
Fastrs's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 112
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: May 2013
   
Can a Revo shaft have the joint changed - 04-15-2017, 10:27 PM

Can the joint on a Revo shaft be changed to a 3/8-10 ?
  
Reply With Quote

Old
  (#2)
SC02GTP
AzB Silver Member
SC02GTP has a reputation beyond reputeSC02GTP has a reputation beyond reputeSC02GTP has a reputation beyond reputeSC02GTP has a reputation beyond reputeSC02GTP has a reputation beyond reputeSC02GTP has a reputation beyond reputeSC02GTP has a reputation beyond reputeSC02GTP has a reputation beyond reputeSC02GTP has a reputation beyond reputeSC02GTP has a reputation beyond reputeSC02GTP has a reputation beyond repute
 
SC02GTP's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,093
vCash: 500
iTrader: 116 / 100%
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Shelbyville, Ky
   
04-15-2017, 11:25 PM

I am not a cue maker but this subject has been discussed. I can't find the link for that thread but I believe the answer was you have to send it to an authorized repair person to have any work done. Not doing so will void the warranty.

From what I remember reading, a joint swap is probably going to be more trouble than it is worth due to the construction method and materials used. You have very little to no room for error and risk destroying the shaft.

If it were me, I would have somebody make a mid cue extension with both joint types used so you can screw the butt and shaft into the extension.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
stevel
Lomax Custom Cues
stevel has a reputation beyond reputestevel has a reputation beyond reputestevel has a reputation beyond reputestevel has a reputation beyond reputestevel has a reputation beyond reputestevel has a reputation beyond reputestevel has a reputation beyond reputestevel has a reputation beyond reputestevel has a reputation beyond reputestevel has a reputation beyond reputestevel has a reputation beyond repute
 
stevel's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 715
vCash: 500
iTrader: 42 / 100%
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alto,Ga.
   
04-16-2017, 06:45 AM

Yes it can be done.


Steve Lomax
LOMAX CUSTOM CUES & REPAIRS
PO BOX 414
Cornelia,GA. 30531
706-776-1252(shop) 706-499-0803(cell)
[email]stevenl@windstream.net
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Fastrs
AzB Silver Member
Fastrs has a reputation beyond reputeFastrs has a reputation beyond reputeFastrs has a reputation beyond reputeFastrs has a reputation beyond reputeFastrs has a reputation beyond reputeFastrs has a reputation beyond reputeFastrs has a reputation beyond reputeFastrs has a reputation beyond reputeFastrs has a reputation beyond reputeFastrs has a reputation beyond reputeFastrs has a reputation beyond repute
 
Fastrs's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 112
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: May 2013
   
04-16-2017, 10:56 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by SC02GTP View Post
I am not a cue maker but this subject has been discussed. I can't find the link for that thread but I believe the answer was you have to send it to an authorized repair person to have any work done. Not doing so will void the warranty.



From what I remember reading, a joint swap is probably going to be more trouble than it is worth due to the construction method and materials used. You have very little to no room for error and risk destroying the shaft.



If it were me, I would have somebody make a mid cue extension with both joint types used so you can screw the butt and shaft into the extension.


Good idea. Thank you for the advice.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
Kim Bye
AzB Silver Member
Kim Bye has a reputation beyond reputeKim Bye has a reputation beyond reputeKim Bye has a reputation beyond reputeKim Bye has a reputation beyond reputeKim Bye has a reputation beyond reputeKim Bye has a reputation beyond reputeKim Bye has a reputation beyond reputeKim Bye has a reputation beyond reputeKim Bye has a reputation beyond reputeKim Bye has a reputation beyond reputeKim Bye has a reputation beyond repute
 
Kim Bye's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,154
vCash: 500
iTrader: 10 / 100%
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Oslo
   
04-17-2017, 04:09 AM

Yes it can be changed, but you would loose the warranty at the same time...



Cold silence
has a tendency
to atrophy any
sense of compassion
  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.