Rasson vs Diamond

MattPoland

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Feel free to take this conversation anywhere but...

Watching professional matches I’m curious if Rasson tables are bouncier for jump shots. I feel like I’ve seen more cueballs on the floor with events using Rasson vs. Diamond.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

jrctherake

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I've heard a couple people that work on and sale all brands of tables say they think the Rasson table is inferior in design. I'm not a table mechanic so, I'll take their word. I'm sure a table mechanic will chime in and correct that and maybe say why if it was incorrect.

As far as the way they play? Well, I've played on one and it definitely played easier. It accepted balls that a diamond will not. I hit a good bit up rail and the ob would still fall. To make it worse, the table had very worn cloth and non polished balls.

As far as the pockets accepting balls, it reminded me of a GC with 5" pockets and new felt. I didn't care for it.

Then again, 14.1 was a little easier on it compared to a diamond.

I wonder if they're like that across the board?

Jeff

BTW, I don't remember shooting a jump shot on it.

Last edited:

trentfromtoledo

8onthebreaktoledo
Silver Member
I have been talking with "kevina" from Rasson for about 4 years. They were clueless to the fact that Diamond used Artemis Intercontinental 66 Cushions, I was the one who told them that. They said, "are you sure", "we know the company that produces the black diamond k-55 cushions".....They were clueless about the fact that those cushions only go on 7' & 8' and older red labels.

The hard part for me is that I have never physically seen one or played on one.