Can anyone run 100 with enough practice?

skierlawyer

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
More specifically can I run 100 with enough practice and coaching? My current high run is 35, and I am able to run 20-25 occasionally. I currently play about 3 nights a week for about 2-4 hours at a time. I'm usually playing friends or in a straight pool league. I play straight pool or 9-ball mostly. I am reading "Play your best straight pool" and find it very informative. What would it take to get to the 100 ball run level? How many hours per week of practice would you think I need to put in?

I started playing pool when I was 12 years old, and I'm 36 now. When I was 17 years old I was playing everyday for many hours and getting better and better, that was when I ran my 35. Actually I ran 35 missed and ran another 35, so I like to say my high run is 70 with one miss. It was during a 100 point game for $. Then I went away to collage and pool became secondary. I stopped playing altogether for many years. I started back up playing a little a few years ago, but recently I've been playing more. I find myself with free time to play now and want to know the best way to improve.

Now I play but don't practice. My goal is to get back to my former level of play and then progress to the next level.

I am going to begin practicing in addition to playing, and am considering taking some lessons. Is running 100 an achievable goal? Any advice? How many days or hours per week should I dedicate? How many months or years of practice might it take to reach my goal? Might it never happen?

Thanks for reading my ramble and I look forward to reading your response.
Brian

stevekur1

The "COMMISH"
Silver Member
Brian,

You have a great positive attitude an that's gonna take you a long ways towards reaching your goal.